Psalms

Our Best Defense!

Psalm 89:1-19  A Psalm by Ethan the Ezrahite

(This Psalm will be done in two parts)

I will sing of the mercies of the Lord for ever: with my mouth will I make known thy faithfulness to all generations.

For I have said, Mercy shall be built up for ever: thy faithfulness shalt thou establish in the very heavens.

I have made a covenant with my chosen, I have sworn unto David my servant,

Thy seed will I establish for ever, and build up thy throne to all generations. Selah.

I love to sing praises to the Lord. It doesn’t matter whether it’s singing about salvation, His Mercy, or His Amazing Grace, or His presence in our everyday lives. I just love to sing His praises. I also love to sing the songs that He gives me, and He has given me a lot of songs. I thank Him for the mercy He shows me each and every day.  I along, with this sinus psalmist, will sing of the mercies of the Lord forever.

 Along with singing, with his mouth he’s going to make known the faithfulness of the Lord to all generations. This is the testimony that we have. Tell me, has He been faithful to you? He has been more than faithful to me. I can depend on Him no matter what comes my way. I trust God to do what’s best with my life, my health, my finances, my marriage, my family – with everything. God is worthy to receive not only my praise but my testimony is well.
Ethan says God’s Mercy is going to continue to grow and His faithfulness will be established in the heavens. And then God talks in verses 3 and 4. God says He made a covenant with David and it will be established forever, and his throne to all generations. This is why it’s so important that Jesus was part of the lineage of David. The covenent was made with David a long time before Jesus came along. Jesus had to fulfill this prophecy as much as any other prophecy in order for Him to be legitimate as a messiah.. Because of this Covenant and because Jesus died for the sins of the whole world, David’s seed is established forever

And the heavens shall praise thy wonders, O Lord: thy faithfulness also in the congregation of the saints.

For who in the heaven can be compared unto the Lord? who among the sons of the mighty can be likened unto the Lord?

God is greatly to be feared in the assembly of the saints, and to be had in reverence of all them that are about him.

Even the heavens praise the Lord. I love that phrase. It just shows us that the whole universe is under His command and His control and He is so loved by them that the heavens Praise Him. How should we praise Him any less if the heavens are even praising Him?  The reason that they praise Him is because no one compares to Him. There is none like our God. He created the Stars. He placed them one by one in the heavens. I love the videos by Louie Giglio entitled “Indescribable” and “How Great Is Our God” I’ve attached one HERE in case you haven’t seen it. It is fairly long but it just shows the powers of the heavens and what God has created.  If you’ve never seen this, it’s worth the time to watch it.
Who can be likened unto our God? Well there’s no one that can be likened unto our God – absolutely no one and nothing. There a lot of people that think everybody is serving the same God.  If that is true, why is Christianity the only one that teaches the doctrine of grace? Our God is greatly to be feared and had in reference by everybody, not just Christians but by all religions, because He is the one true God.

O Lord God of hosts, who is a strong Lord like unto thee? or to thy faithfulness round about thee?

Thou rulest the raging of the sea: when the waves thereof arise, thou stillest them.

10 Thou hast broken Rahab in pieces, as one that is slain; thou hast scattered thine enemies with thy strong arm.

11 The heavens are thine, the earth also is thine: as for the world and the fulness thereof, thou hast founded them.

12 The north and the south thou hast created them: Tabor and Hermon shall rejoice in thy name.

13 Thou hast a mighty arm: strong is thy hand, and high is thy right hand.

14 Justice and judgment are the habitation of thy throne: mercy and truth shall go before thy face.

Who is strong like the Lord?  God’s faithfulness is mentioned for the fourth time in this psalm!  He rules the sea and He stills the waves. I think it’s more amazing to still the sea then it is to rule the wind. I’ve mentioned this once before but I find it amazing that Jesus calmed the sea and the wind and the waves obey him. If you’ve ever seen the effect of wind, it takes awhile for the waves to settle down once the wind dies down. But Jesus stilled them all with one word. God scatters the enemy with His strong arm and He can scatter your enemies just as easily. Remember that the next time you’re facing a trial and struggling – God can remove your enemy with one arm.
Everything belongs to God.  Everything in the heavens and everything on the Earth.  He created this world – it all belongs to Him. He even created the North and the South. There’s nowhere you can go that God has not created. He is God over all of it. And He lives in a world of justice and judgment. We have to respect the justice and the judgement of the Lord. There’s so much preaching about mercy and grace in these days, and those two tings are extremely important. We forget about justice and judgment,  but hear in this psalm it says that God lives in a world of justice and judgment. He also says that mercy and truth will go before God. Here is that coupling again that we talked about before –  mercy and Truth.  We’re preaching a lot of mercy in our churches today but very little truth. The truth is that there is a judgement and there is a hell that is to come. The truth is you must accept the Lord Jesus Christ to be saved. It’s not automatic just because you’re on this Earth, or just because your parents we’re Christians, or because you do good works. You have to make a personal decision to accept the Lord as your Savior.

15 Blessed is the people that know the joyful sound: they shall walk, O Lord, in the light of thy countenance.

16 In thy name shall they rejoice all the day: and in thy righteousness shall they be exalted.

17 For thou art the glory of their strength: and in thy favour our horn shall be exalted.

18 For the Lord is our defence; and the Holy One of Israel is our king.

19 Then thou spakest in vision to thy holy one, and saidst, I have laid help upon one that is mighty; I have exalted one chosen out of the people.

Here’s that joyful sound again. Whe are blessed if we know the joyful sound. We will walk in the light of the Lord and in his name we will rejoice. All we need is His name to rejoice. We don’t need Him to heal us, we don’t need Him to deliver us, we don’t need Him to provide financially for us, we don’t need Him to do anything for us.  All we need is His name to rejoice  day in and day out. Because He is the glory of our strength. When we show others that our strength is in the Lord, we can give God the glory for what He has done in our lives. And He deserves all the glory
The Lord is our defense. You know when we look at baseball, or football, or basketball it is usually said that it takes a good defense to win championships. When we have the Lord as our defense, we have the best defense this earth can have. When He is on our side the enemy cannot defeat us. There are times that we need to go on offense against the enemy  and that usually means prayer, but most of the time we can juts trust in the defense of our Lord. Allow him to defend you in every situation.
 Ethan says that God spoke in a vision. I have to admit I think I’ve only had one vision that I can recall in my life. And it was more of a prophecy than a vision. The Bible says that visions will increase during the last days. Joel 2:28 says your young men shall dream dreams and your old men shall see visions. I believe we will see more and more of that in these last days. Allow yourself to be used in this ministry. God doesn’t give me visions but he does give me songs on a regular basis, almost daily. I have a lot of work to do with these songs, but I praise Him for giving me the words.  What has He given you to share as a testimony?
1 thought on “Our Best Defense!”

Leave a Reply

