Psalms

The Blessings of David

Psalm 89:20-52 A Psalm of Ethan he Ezrahite (Part 2)

20 I have found David my servant; with my holy oil have I anointed him:

21 With whom my hand shall be established: mine arm also shall strengthen him.

22 The enemy shall not exact upon him; nor the son of wickedness afflict him.

23 And I will beat down his foes before his face, and plague them that hate him.

The Lord  is speaking in this part of the psalm through the pen of Ethan. He talks about the fact that He picked David out and He anointed David. Much of the rest of this psalm talks about the blessings on David. It’s good for us to know and understand that David was anointed by God, not just by Samuel. God says He will establish David in strength, and has established the covenant with David.  This coovenent was well-known to alll, including the Pharisees and the scribes. They know that the Messiah would come from the lineage of David. So it’s important that we understand that as well.

God says that the enemy will not come in on  David and their wickedness will not affect him. What’s interesting about David is that no matter how bad the enemy or how much difficulty he was in, he always turned back to praising the Lord. I believe this is what God’s talking about when he says that the enemy will not exact upon him nor will the son of wickedness afflict him. Even though he was very alone sometimes, he never stopped loving the Lord and giving him the glory. Because of that God says He will beat down David’s foes before his face and He will plague those that hate him.

24 But my faithfulness and my mercy shall be with him: and in my name shall his horn be exalted.

25 I will set his hand also in the sea, and his right hand in the rivers.

26 He shall cry unto me, Thou art my father, my God, and the rock of my salvation.

27 Also I will make him my firstborn, higher than the kings of the earth.

28 My mercy will I keep for him for evermore, and my covenant shall stand fast with him.

God continues to talk about David.  God says his faithfulness and His mercy will always be with David. Now another thing it’s important for us to remember is that because Christ was of the lineage of David, and He died for our sins and we took Him into our lives, we are also privy to the blessings that are assigned to David. I mean these words are also true about us.  God’s faithfulness and mercy shall be with us and God’s name will be exalted. Isn’t it exciting to know that we have the blessings of David on our life? I think it’s terribly exciting.
He said he’s going to bless him from the sea to The Rivers. David will continue to praise the Lord and say that He’s my Father. This is very interesting because in the Old Testament we never see then addressing God as Father. So this is almost like a prophecy. That the future Generations would call him Father God.  I have a friend who calls Him Papa God.
God says I will make David my first born. There’s a lot of significance in the first born. Typically they got a much larger inheritance then any of the other children. They were esteemed to be blessed in all that they did. If the father was of a particular trade the first born was expected to take over that business. Much of this was true even before they left Egypt, but it became even more so when they did leave Egypt because their first born were spared death while the Egyptian firstborn were all slaughtered by the Holy Spirit. God has made us joint heirs with Him so we are like the first born as well. Then lastly he says His mercy will be kept forever and His Covenant will stand fast. I’m so glad that’s true

29 His seed also will I make to endure for ever, and his throne as the days of heaven.

30 If his children forsake my law, and walk not in my judgments;

31 If they break my statutes, and keep not my commandments;

32 Then will I visit their transgression with the rod, and their iniquity with stripes.

33 Nevertheless my lovingkindness will I not utterly take from him, nor suffer my faithfulness to fail.

34 My covenant will I not break, nor alter the thing that is gone out of my lips.

God continues to talk to David.  He says David’s seed will endure forever.  That’s us!  And it keeps going on from generation to generation. Now comes the warning. If we do not keep God’s law and His commandments then He will visit our transgressions.  He will come and correct that. He expects us to be obedient when we are saved and follow those commandments He has given. In this age of grace that we’re in now there are a lot of people walking around that could care less about the commandments of the Lord. They accepted Christ by raising their hand in the congregation and they figure they’re going to heaven. I believe you have to bear fruit in order to go to heaven.   God says that if we don’t obey his word the transgressions will be visited upon us with a rod and with stripes. To me what that means is they will go through trials and tests to try to get them back on the right way.
However God says His love will never leave them. That His faithfulness will still be there even in the midst of their turning away from Him.  His Covenant will not be broken. This shows the lovingkindness of our God!  Even if we break his rules and His laws, He will still love us but He may discipline us. A good parent disciplines their children so they can learn what’s right and what’s wrong.  Children don’t understand this at the time but the parent knows what’s best and eventually the children learn that the discipline comes out of love.  So it is with our Heavenly Father.  The important thing to do is, when you are in a trial, ask God for strength to endure until He decides to bring us through.  If we get out of the trial early, we may not learn all that God wants us to, and He might have to put us through it again.

35 Once have I sworn by my holiness that I will not lie unto David.

36 His seed shall endure for ever, and his throne as the sun before me.

37 It shall be established for ever as the moon, and as a faithful witness in heaven. Selah.

God reiterates the fact that he will not lie to David. Good to know that God will not lie.  David’s throne will endure forever and his seed will endure forever. It’s not a physical seed we’re talking about here – it’s his spiritual seed. And it’s in each one of us! We’ve already talked about this spiritual seed.  It is one of the things that makes us a part of the family of God – we are part of the lineage of David. This is a very good thing to know. If you haven’t studied the life of David I urge you to do so. David did not have an easy life even though he was King.  He got chased around by his son who wanted to kill him. He got into sin and one of those children died because of it. He had to kill a giant and he was worried about the four brothers of that giant so he took 5 stones out of the river. For the most part David followed after God.  In studying the psalms we know that David was not afraid to question God and talked to Him very bluntly, but he trusted God no matter what the situation.

But thou hast cast off and abhorred, thou hast been wroth with thine anointed.

39 Thou hast made void the covenant of thy servant: thou hast profaned his crown by casting it to the ground.

40 Thou hast broken down all his hedges; thou hast brought his strong holds to ruin.

41 All that pass by the way spoil him: he is a reproach to his neighbours.

42 Thou hast set up the right hand of his adversaries; thou hast made all his enemies to rejoice.

43 Thou hast also turned the edge of his sword, and hast not made him to stand in the battle.

44 Thou hast made his glory to cease, and cast his throne down to the ground.

45 The days of his youth hast thou shortened: thou hast covered him with shame. Selah.

46 How long, Lord? wilt thou hide thyself for ever? shall thy wrath burn like fire?

47 Remember how short my time is: wherefore hast thou made all men in vain?

48 What man is he that liveth, and shall not see death? shall he deliver his soul from the hand of the grave? Selah.

49 Lord, where are thy former lovingkindnesses, which thou swarest unto David in thy truth?

Ethan is talking again now, and he asks God why He has cast them off.  The enemy is coming against them.  he accuses God of voiding the Covenant, casting his crown to the ground, broken down all the hedges, and the strongholds are in ruin. This doesn’t sound like a good situation to me.  It looks like the enemy is coming in again on Ethan and he doesn’t understand what God is doing. I wouldn’t either after the previous section of scripture where we looked at all these promises of God.  Then all of a sudden, here comes the enemy. You ever feel like God has broken His promise to you?
How long Lord – are you going to hide forever? Good question we’ve seen a lot in this study. Do you ever feel like God is hiding from you?  You’re not alone! Ethan reminds God how short time is an our neck of the woods.  To God a year is like a thousand years. Ethan doesn’t think God necessarily understands our time frame because our time is short.  I know there are many times I wish God would hurry up with the answer!  I’m sure you never felt that way.   Ethan asks if God made all men in vain.  Isn’t there a reason that we’re here – we see death all the time. Then he asked the Lord where His loving-kindness is because He swore to David that it would never leave! It just doesn’t seem to be there right now.  What a difficult time he seems to be having. I know there are times that I feel that way – that God has removed his loving-kindness and he’s left me to fend for myself. When I get into those situations I just praise the Lord. It’s all I can do! Then slowly but surely I feel his presence back in the room.

50 Remember, Lord, the reproach of thy servants; how I do bear in my bosom the reproach of all the mighty people;

51 Wherewith thine enemies have reproached, O Lord; wherewith they have reproached the footsteps of thine anointed.

52 Blessed be the Lord for evermore. Amen, and Amen.

Ethan asks God to remember his reproach. In fact he takes on him the reproach of the whole nation. He’s asking God to forgive his reproach. He’s actually repenting of what he is done. I’m not sure what his reproach was but I’m guessing that the nation had back-slidden and was following after other gods.  They were far away from what God wants in His people. When we get to that point all we can do is repent. Many times we think things are a lot worse than they really are.  We are we need to step back and really look at that situation.  Is God isn’t trying to teach us something – maybe about your humility, maybe about your pride? We must be vigilant to keep God present in our lives.
He ends the psalm with praise – saying blessed be the Lord forever more. It’s rare that I end my prayer like that. I usually end with thank you Lord, but I think it’d be a good idea to end my prayer with a blessing to God.  When I start praying I need to open with a blessing to God.  And when I finish praying I should bless the Lord.  So often in the psalms we see this.
Leave a Reply

