Under His Wing

Psalm 91

He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.

I will say of the Lord, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust.

Surely he shall deliver thee from the snare of the fowler, and from the noisome pestilence.

He shall cover thee with his feathers, and under his wings shalt thou trust: his truth shall be thy shield and buckler.

I would guess that this is probably the second most familiar psalm after the 23rd. I hear people using Psalm 91 all the time to comfort and console people and to give them hope. I’m figuring you probably know this psalm pretty well also. I was tempted to break it up into two parts but I decided to keep it together because of a common theme.

When we dwell with God we will be safe under His shadow. He becomes our refuge and fortress. There is nothing that can harm us when we are in that secret place with God. It’s such a comfort to know that. It gives me reason to draw closer to God. Because we can trust Him. We can trust Him to take care of us in the midst of our trials. We can trust Him to do the things He says He will do in His word.  We can trust Him to deliver us and keep us safe. There’s nothing better than knowing that God has our back.
God delivers us from the snare of the fowler. This was a way of catching birds – using a snare.  The enemy is constantly trying to set snares for us, trying to get us to make the wrong  decision.  We don’t have to worry about those snares, because God says He will deliver us. I don’t have to worry about pestilence either.  God will bring us out of that also!  He’s like a bird that covers it’s young with their wings when things are difficult. When it’s raining or when the enemy is near, that bird just shelters those young ones so the enemy doesn’t know that they’re there. That’s what kind of God we serve.

Thou shalt not be afraid for the terror by night; nor for the arrow that flieth by day;

Nor for the pestilence that walketh in darkness; nor for the destruction that wasteth at noonday.

A thousand shall fall at thy side, and ten thousand at thy right hand; but it shall not come nigh thee.

All we really need here is the first five words -Thou shalt not be afraid. When we have God on our side, there is absolutely no reason to be afraid of anything. He will protect us from anything that might come our way.  We have that assurance throughout his word. In the New Testament it says perfect love cast out all fear 1 John 4:18). We just got done with the Christmas season, and we know that when the Angels appeared to the Shepherds and to Joseph and Mary every time they were told not to be afraid. And I think if an Angel showed up at my door I would be afraid. There’s a place for Godly fear. Godly fear is to be in awe of God.  When we see Him, or one of His representatives, we will fall at his feet. There’s nothing wrong with having that kind of fear.  I have heard it said that the Bible says fear not 365 times, once for every day of the year.  Take hat to heart.
The writer covers the whole day. You won’t be afraid of the terror by night, nor the arrow that flies during the day, nor pestilence that walks in the darkness, nor destruction that comes at noonday.  There’s not a minute of our day that God does not walk with us and protect us. And when we on His strength we will see the enemy fall by the thousands around us, and none of them will even come close to us. We can see that truth in several battles the Israelites fought. The enemy just ran and didn’t come back for a long time. The Israelites did not have to lift a finger. God dispersed the enemy. I think of the four lepers that sat at the gate.   The city was under siege and was running out of food.  When the lepers went to the enemy’s camp, God had put a scare in the enemy, and they ran, leaving behind all their stuff.  Israel plundered them, and the siege was over (2 Kings 7:3-20). We do not have to fear

Only with thine eyes shalt thou behold and see the reward of the wicked.

Because thou hast made the Lord, which is my refuge, even the most High, thy habitation;

10 There shall no evil befall thee, neither shall any plague come nigh thy dwelling.

The closest we will come will be to see God reward the wicked. There is no reward for the wicked – it’s a negative connotation here. We will see how God deals with the wicked, but we won’t come near it and it won’t come near us.  That’s because we have made the Lord our habitation. To me this means living in the Word of God. Trusting in its statutes, knowing its Commandments, loving every word that you read and following each and every step that God tells us to take.  That’s making the Lord my habitation
No evil will befall us and no plague will come near our dwelling if the Lord is our habitation. I really want to live closer to God and have Him be my habitation. I have an intense desire within me to know the Word better. And I’m not talking about reading it and studying it, even though that’s an essential part. I’m talking about really knowing it, deep down inside, with every fiber of my being. Knowing what God is saying to me on a day-to-day basis. That’s the main thing that I write in these songs that God has put in me. I figure I’ve been saved for 40 years and been reading the Bible that long and studying over and over again. I pray that God is giving me some wisdom to share with you. That’s my habitation in the Lord. I love being in his courts

11 For he shall give his angels charge over thee, to keep thee in all thy ways.

12 They shall bear thee up in their hands, lest thou dash thy foot against a stone.

13 Thou shalt tread upon the lion and adder: the young lion and the dragon shalt thou trample under feet.

Verses 11 – 12 are quoted very often. In fact even the devil quoted part verse 11 when he tempted Jesus in the wilderness. He will give His angels charge over you. I think every one of us as Christians believe that we have guardian angels watching over us. If you’ve ever read any of Frank Peretti’s books, He talks about the band of angels that responds to prayer. I think it’s a lot like that, to be honest. I think there are angels around us all the time just waiting to be sent by God to where they’re needed the most. But the second part of this is probably the most important:  He will give His angels charge over thee to keep thee in all thy ways. What that tells me is that if I go out of my way to do something that normally isn’t part of my life style, I might not be protected. If Jesus had jumped off that cliff when Satan only used the first part of verse 11 to tempt Him, I’m not sure Jesus would have survived. If we do stupid things we will pay the consequence because we are going out of our way to do those things. My suggestion to each of you is don’t take chances – go with God
Then He says the angels will bear you up in their hand. They’ll keep you safe. And I believe that with all my heart. I believe we have angels around us helping to hold us up when we need to be held up.  They will help to guide us if will only listen.  So often we’re so busy in this world that we don’t hear what God has to say to us. We need to quiet down our spirit. A lot of times, when the spirit is moving in the congregation, if we can just be quiet before God we will hear Him speak. He wants to communication wiht us!  If we listen,  we might hear him call.

14 Because he hath set his love upon me, therefore will I deliver him: I will set him on high, because he hath known my name.

15 He shall call upon me, and I will answer him: I will be with him in trouble; I will deliver him, and honour him.

16 With long life will I satisfy him, and shew him my salvation.

In these last 3 verses, God is speaking to the writer. He says because I have set my love upon Him, He will deliver me and set me on high because I have known His name. When I call on Him He will answer and deliver.  God also says that He will honor me with long life and He will show me His salvation.
When I read this list it makes me weep with joy. What a wonderful gracious God we serve. He’s going to take care of me no matter what comes my way. Yes, He will set me on high because I know His name. And I love His name. The name of Jesus. When I call on Him, He will answer and He will be with me when I’m in trouble. God you’re too good to me. I don’t deserve these blessings. Here they are right, in your word, for all to see and all to claim if they have set their love upon you. Oh God, I love you more than anything in this world. I love you more than I love my wife. I love you more than I love my best friend. I love you more than my health. I love you more than my finances. I love you to the ends of the Earth, Lord.  Thank you Lord for your blessings and for your love.  Amen

 

One thought on “Under His Wing

Leave a Reply

