Psalms

Give Thanksgiving and Praise

Psalm 92

It is a good thing to give thanks unto the Lord, and to sing praises unto thy name, O Most High:

To shew forth thy lovingkindness in the morning, and thy faithfulness every night,

Upon an instrument of ten strings, and upon the psaltery; upon the harp with a solemn sound.

I could not agree more. It is a good thing to give thanks unto the Lord. I personally don’t thank him enough. Minute by minute, hour by hour, day by day, week by week, month by month, and year by year He supplies so much to me that I can’t begin to list it on this blog. I am most thankful for His grace and His Mercy and His love. I could spend all day just thanking Him for the things that those three blessings provide. I can identify with John when he writes that the world cannot contain all that God has done for us (John 21:25). We must live a life of Thanksgiving each and every day.

And to sing praises unto thy name. This is not the same as giving thanks. This is lifting up His name in adoration for who He is, not for what He’s done. He is the creator of all things that we can see and that we cannot see. He is the God of all that there is and He is above all other gods.  There is no one higher than Him there is no one greater than Him. He is above all and in all and through all. He deserves all praise despite our circumstances and despite our troubles. There is never a reason that we should not lift up His name in Praise. Day in and day out our praises should be lifted high to the God whom we serve and call Father.
And why do we praise Him. To show His loving-kindness. How will other people know that we love God if we’re not praising Him? If we’re not lifting up His name at every opportunity? This world enjoys using His name in vain and putting Him down and blaming Him for their troubles. When we hear somebody do those things we should rise up and say “I praise the Lord for what He’s done for me”. It’s a perfect opportunity to give our testimony. The writer mentions that we should do it with our band accompanying us. Praise songs to the Lord are wonderful things. And we are in a new era of praise in the church. Artists like Chris Tomlin and Michael W Smith are leading a new revelation of worship. It is such a wonderful time to be a Christian.

For thou, Lord, hast made me glad through thy work: I will triumph in the works of thy hands.

O Lord, how great are thy works! and thy thoughts are very deep.

A brutish man knoweth not; neither doth a fool understand this.

When the wicked spring as the grass, and when all the workers of iniquity do flourish; it is that they shall be destroyed for ever:

Are you glad about the work that God is doing in your life?  Remember that many times the work that He does in your life is done through trials and tests. The writer says He will try by the works of His hands. His works are great and the thoughts that He has are very deep towards us because He wants to do a deep work in our hearts. John the Baptist said “The axe is lad to the roots” (Matt 3:10)  .  he wants to get to the very root of our problems and take them from us. The trouble comes in when we don’t understand what He’s trying to do and we try to get out of the trial or the test that we are in. I like to take the attitude when I’m in the middle of a test to praise Him and to know that He’s working in my life and I will triumph at the work of His hands. With God on my side I cannot be defeated.  And let’s make sure we are not praying our friends out of trials that God has placed in their lives.  If God wants those trials there, why should I pray against Him.  Pray God will give them the strength to endure through the trial instead!
Now the unbeliever has no idea what God is trying to do in their lives. Oh yes, He is at work on them as well. Who do you think you turned to God when you were an unbeliever? Didn’t Jesus say He chose us? (John 15:16) Yes, God is calling out to the unbelievers and He might be using tests and tribulations to move them into His kingdom. Now it would be impossible for us to convince the unbeliever of that. But they will not understand these things until they finally lose their pride and understand that God loves them.
The trouble is then they start to flourish in their own minds and think that they are something. God will destroy them. When I was an unbeliever God,sent an old friend back into my life. He was living in Iowa and I was living in Massachusetts. So we started writing. In every letter he would send me the address of a scripture. And being the inquisitive soul I was I would look them up. His gentle seeds opened my heart to God and one year later I went to Iowa and got saved. Do you have friends that maybe you can do that with? Any little seed you can plant will help.

But thou, Lord, art most high for evermore.

For, lo, thine enemies, O Lord, for, lo, thine enemies shall perish; all the workers of iniquity shall be scattered.

10 But my horn shalt thou exalt like the horn of an unicorn: I shall be anointed with fresh oil.

11 Mine eye also shall see my desire on mine enemies, and mine ears shall hear my desire of the wicked that rise up against me.

12 The righteous shall flourish like the palm tree: he shall grow like a cedar in Lebanon.

The writer says that God is the most high. His enemies will perish and the workers of iniquity will be scattered. It’s important to understand that the way that they will perish and be scattered is that we keep our mind focused on God and not on the enemy. It’s so easy for us to get distracted and think that we have to fight the battle. What we have to fight is thinking that we’re strong enough to fight the battle. The Battle Belongs to the Lord.  Our job is to accomplish verse 1. It is a good thing to give thanks unto the Lord and to sing praises unto his name. Let God take care of the enemy. Let God take care of the trial. Let God take care of the tribulation.  I remember ministering to a friend of mine in Tennessee.  he was having a serious problems with lustful thoughts, and his family was falling apart because of it.  I told him, by the spirit’s urging, to ignore the lustful thoughts – stop worrying about them, and to set his mind on God.  He would keep acknowledging the problem was there, and it just kept jumping up.  when he stopped acknowledging it, and started to acknowledge God’s working in his life, things changed.  Now, his family is back around him and doing wonderful.  He has a powerful testimony of reconciliation.  All because he ignored the problem and turned to God.
When we can keep our eyes focused on God then He will exalt us in the eyes of our enemy. We will be freshly anointed.  We will see God take care of our situations and the righteous will flourish. We’ll be like a palm tree is what the writer says and like The Cedars of Lebanon The Cedars of Lebanon were highly regarded as the strongest trees around. They were shipped in to build the temple in Jerusalem and that was not an easy task. But only the best goes to God and when He says will grow us like the cedars it means that we will grow stronger in Him.

13 Those that be planted in the house of the Lord shall flourish in the courts of our God.

14 They shall still bring forth fruit in old age; they shall be fat and flourishing;

15 To shew that the Lord is upright: he is my rock, and there is no unrighteousness in him.

When were planted in God’s house we will flourish. There’s a growing number in our population that think Church is irrelevant. They think they can live out their Christian Life at home. The psalmist and I disagree. He says we will flourish in the courts of God and we will still bring forth fruit in our old age. I am seeing that happen in my life. God is certainly pouring out his Spirit to me on a regular basis and I am so thankful that he still finds Mme useful in His kingdom.
It is my responsibility to show all that the Lord is upright and that He is my rock. I can stand on Him and His promises no matter what comes my way or what darkens my door. I know that troubles will come and I know that He will be with me right here in the middle of them. Everybody around me wondered how I could be so calm when I found out I had cancer and will have to go undergo a long treatment process to be cured. But I know that I walk with God and that He walks with me. He is my rock and I can stand on Him no matter how deep the trial gets. There is no unrighteousness in Him everything he does. Everything He allows in my life is for my good. And I can rest and be calm in that knowledge.
Leave a Reply

