Psalms

In The Beauty of Holiness

Psalm 96

O sing unto the Lord a new song: sing unto the Lord, all the earth.

Sing unto the Lord, bless his name; shew forth his salvation from day to day.

Declare his glory among the heathen, his wonders among all people.

For years I have been a music and worship leader in my churches. I would often get melodies dancing through my head, but there would never be any words. Then sometimes I would think of some words, but there was no melody. One day I was driving down the road and God gave me a melody and words at the same time. I quickly pulled my car off the side of the road, wrote down the words, picked up my cell phone and recorded it and I had a new song. I took it to my pastor and asked him what he thought.   He said it was beautiful and he told me to keep listening.

 Since that time I have written well over a thousand songs and poems for the Lord. He gives them all to me. I don’t just try to think them up. I sing a new song unto the Lord. Do you happen to have melodies floating in your head? Maybe He’s giving you a new song. The psalmist says sing unto the Lord a new song all the Earth. We are in an age of worship revival right now. Christian groups are bringing new worship music at an unbelievable pace. Many of the popular songs of today will be in tomorrow’s hymnals. We bless His name with the songs.
We must show forth  His salvation. How do we do that? By the way we conduct Our Lives and by the way we act around people that don’t praise our God. If somebody’s using the Lord’s name in vain and in a public place, or when they’re talking to you,do you show forth your salvation? Do you declare his glory among the heathen and his wonders among all people? That’s what were supposed to be doing.  Let’s get busy, Church, and sing that new song for He is worthy.

For the Lord is great, and greatly to be praised: he is to be feared above all gods.

For all the gods of the nations are idols: but the Lord made the heavens.

Honour and majesty are before him: strength and beauty are in his sanctuary.

You see, our God is great and He is greatly to be praised  He is high above all other gods. Don’t let this world fool you. There is only one true God and all the other gods of the nations are idols. Our God made the heaven.  He is the creator of all things that you can see. Read the Genesis account. We learned that He created the heavens and the Earth, the light,  the animals and man. There is no other God that did that. It is the God of the Bible and He is greatly to be praised.  Strength and beauty are in His sanctuary

Give unto the Lord, O ye kindreds of the people, give unto the Lord glory and strength.

Give unto the Lord the glory due unto his name: bring an offering, and come into his courts.

O worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness: fear before him, all the earth.

I find it interesting that he says we are to give unto the Lord glory and strength. I always thought that he gave us our strength. Now I can see giving God glory. We don’t deserve any Glory  – He deserves it all. If we do receive Glory from somebody down here we need to make sure we give it to God and not keep it for ourselves. Because Glory will destroy us if we keep the glory. It will build us up with pride and pride is never good. This is a problem that a lot of ministers have. God fills them with the glory when they’re preaching and they feel that anointing and want to hold on to it. But you can’t hold on to the glory of God -you have to give it back. But the interesting part is that we are supposed to give God strength.  I believe that means He wants us to give Him our strength. When we give Him ours then we’re without strength so that He can be our strength. We need to fight all of our battles in His strength, not in our own
Again he says give unto the Lord all the glory to His name. He tells us to bring an offering and come into the courts. We bring a sacrifice and an offering of praise and adoration to Him. We Worship the Lord in the beauty of His holiness. It is a beautiful place when we’re standing in the presence of God. I love it when the anointing comes into the church during the worship service.  You can feel the sweet presence of God hovering, waiting to minister to the people. Sometimes you can even hear that brush of angel’s wings. I’ve been in services or I have smelled a sweet savor when God comes into the room. It’s an absolutely unbelievable feeling.  That’s what it means to  worship the Lord in the beauty of His holiness.

10 Say among the heathen that the Lord reigneth: the world also shall be established that it shall not be moved: he shall judge the people righteously.

11 Let the heavens rejoice, and let the earth be glad; let the sea roar, and the fulness thereof.

12 Let the field be joyful, and all that is therein: then shall all the trees of the wood rejoice

13 Before the Lord: for he cometh, for he cometh to judge the earth: he shall judge the world with righteousness, and the people with his truth.

We have to make sure we’re telling the unbelievers that the Lord reigns.  He is in control.  He will establish the world and it shall not be moved from what he establishes.  He will judge the people. He will judge them righteously which is something we’re not used to in this country in a lot of cases. The heavens and the earth and the seas will all rejoice in the Lord.  The field will be joyful and the trees of the woods will rejoice. Remember when Jesus was riding into the city and they were laying down palm branches? The Pharisees told him that He should quiet the crowd because they were lifting Him up. Jesus told them that if the crowd didn’t praise Him, very rocks would cry out and praise to him (Luke 19:40). Let’s not keep silence about what the Lord has done for us.  I sure don’t want a rock out-praising me!
He will come to judge the Earth and He will judge the world with righteousness and with His truth. Are you living a life that will pass that judgment? Do you live a life that is full of the righteousness of Christ and following after the truth that is in His word? If you are that is a good thing. If you are not you will be judged by the most high God and I really would not want to be in your shoes. If you don’t know Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior, perhaps this is a good time to ask Him into your heart. It’s a simple thing
Lord Jesus, I ask you to forgive me of my sins. I repent and I want to turn my life over to you. I believe that you died for me on the cross to cleanse my sins and rose from the dead to give me eternal life. And now I ask you to be my Lord. Thank you Jesus for saving me.
If you just prayed that prayer, welcome to the kingdom of God. Find a good church, read your Bible starting in the Gospel of John New Testament. And then start to praise and worship. You’re on a new Road. Praise the Lord
Leave a Reply

