How To Come To God!

Psalm 100

Make a joyful noise unto the Lord, all ye lands.

Serve the Lord with gladness: come before his presence with singing.

Three things we should be doing on an ongoing basis.  Make a joyful noise, Serve the Lord with gladness, and come to Him with singing.  Take note that there is no mention of doing this when  times are good and all is going your way.  The writer doesn’t say to do this because you have been blessed and you want to give back an offering of praise to the Lord.  He doesn’t mention if he is healthy or not, or f the enemy is surrounding him or not.  And he doesn’t say he will do these things if he feels like it!

These three things should be done in every waking moment by those who love the Lord.  There should be no hesitation.  There should be no delay.  A joyful noise because He gives us our joy, the wonderful unspeakable, matchless joy that only comes from the Holy Spirit as one of His fruit.  This joy disregards the circumstances and flows up within us all the time.  It will insist on praising the Lord simply because if who He is.  Serving Him with the gladness He has given us, just glad to be saved.  Come to Him with singing is an easy thing to do,  How can we not sing His praises when he has bee so gracious and merciful to us.

I hope you are doing these three things every day, many times a day.  I know I do my best to get that done because I love Him, and want to give my all to Him.  This is just a small thing to do!

3 Know that the Lord is God..  It is he who made us, and not we ourselves; we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture.

I know that God is God!  There is no doubt in my mind that He is the only true God.  All other gods are subservient to Him – many are idols.  Our God made us   He took the dust of the earth and formed man, then breathed into him to give him breath.  He has been with man ever since, calling man His chosen vessels.  An it is He who makes us who we are.  We don’t do that!  He is the potter with the wheel, molding and shaping us into what we should be.  He is still making us today because we are His people.

We are also His sheep.  He protects us, feeds us, provides for us and delivers s when we do get in harms way.  He outs us in His pasture,  which is ample with all we need to eat.  We want for nothing but His love and we are devoted to Him.  We will not go unless He goes, and when He stops, we also will stop.  What an uncomplicated life He gives us!

Enter into his gates with thanksgiving, and into his courts with praise: be thankful unto him, and bless his name.

For the Lord is good; his mercy is everlasting; and his truth endureth to all generations.

Enter with Thanksgiving and Praise.  This should be our heart’s cry.  Lord, prepare me before I  get to church  so that I  might enter with thanksgiving on my heart and praise on my lips.  I remember when my  kids were young.  The ride to and from church was always a noisy ride, and often contentious.  I always felt, and always will, that these were attacks of the enemy; meant to stop us from entering His house with thanksgiving and praise.  When I learn to enter this way, I am ready to receive swhat God has for me in that service.

And it’s not because I  am blessed, and healthy, and delivered, and on  top of the world that I enter His courts this way.  It has nothing to do with how God has treated me.  It’s simply because he is good and merciful and true.  And those attributes will last forever.  He will never change.  I can depend on God to be good and merciful and true to me.  He will never fail me.  And He will never fail you!

Leave a Reply

