I Will Sing

Psalm 101 A Psalm of David

I will sing of mercy and judgment: unto thee, O Lord, will I sing.

I will behave myself wisely in a perfect way. O when wilt thou come unto me? I will walk within my house with a perfect heart.

I will sing.  Not I might sing, or I may sing if I feel like it.  Not I am thinking about singing but I am off key and everyone will  laugh.   No thought of what others will do -I  will sing.  And he says it twice for emphasis.  I have mentioned this before but it’s worth repeating,  I learned to worship from a pastor I had 30 years ago.  I was the song leader/worship leader, and I would pick out the songs and lead the congregation until I felt it was time to change the order of the service.  I would ask pastor to take over, and he would do so.  But quite often he would continue to worship, singing the same song we ended with or maybe another song, at the top of his lungs.  You say this is not unusual,  and I would agree.  The thing is, he could not carry a tune at all.  He was off key, and the notes made no difference – he went where he wanted to.  But he was worshiping the Lord, singing his praise, and that’s all that mattered.  Yes, I will sing!

Then David says he will behave wisely in a perfect way, and will walk with a perfect heart.  I want to be able to make that statement!  David had his struggles, all through his life, yet he can say this.  Why am I so hesitant to make such a bold statement.  It is because  doubt myself.  I have thoughts on occasion that steer  me away from God.  How can I say I will walk with a perfect heart if these thoughts keep appearing.  The answer, to me is that I should not worry about those thoughts. I should just concentrate n my relationship with God with Jesus and how I conduct myself toward them.  I should walk in repentance of those thoughts, and allow God to cleanse me.  That is walking with a perfect heart.  A heart devoted to Him.

I will set no wicked thing before mine eyes: I hate the work of them that turn aside; it shall not cleave to me.

A froward heart shall depart from me: I will not know a wicked person.

Whoso privily slandereth his neighbour, him will I cut off: him that hath an high look and a proud heart will not I suffer.

Mine eyes shall be upon the faithful of the land, that they may dwell with me: he that walketh in a perfect way, he shall serve me.

The eyes take in more than the rest of the body.  The eyes see things  and copy that image into the brain for  the rest of our lives.  Once that image is in there, it can be recalled at a moments notice, and take us back to the instance we saw it.  David knew this.  he knew that if he set some wicked thing before his eyes, it would have the ability to affect him for the rest of his life.  So he says he will set no wicked thing before his eyes.  What a great policy to have.  I allow wicked things in front of my eyes once in a while, do you?  Before you say no, let me remind you that God would see horror films as wicked, adultery in films or TV as wicked, witchcraft as wicked, unrighteousness as wicked – need I go on?  Our world is full of wicked things.  I need to protect my eyes.

So I should put my eyes on the faithful of the faithful of the Lord.  The things that lift Him up should be front and center in my life.  His word, first and foremost.  Worship music s so wonderful to listen to, and watch on YouTube.  Reading all the blogs that deal with our Christian walk is a good thing.  Watching those anointed preachers on TV.  There are so many ways I can keep my eyes on he faithful instead of on the wicked.  That is something I need to constantly work or and be aware of.

He that worketh deceit shall not dwell within my house: he that telleth lies shall not tarry in my sight.

I will early destroy all the wicked of the land; that I may cut off all wicked doers from the city of the Lord.

David says he will stay away from deceitful and wicked people.  He realizes that those people he regularly associates with will have an influence on him.  No matter how much we try, they will.  There is nothing wrong with having a casual relationship with someone who fits this category, but hopefully that relationship is being built so we can lead them the Lord.  Our closets relationships should be with the saints of God, not with the wicked and deceitful.  We need to avoid that kind of influence on our lives if at all possible.  if you are newly saved, that could mean breaking off friendships you have had for a long time.  I got saved, and maintained the friendships I had before I was saved – not good relationships to have.  Eventually, God had to uproot me and move me 1500 miles to put those relationships behind me.  I’m not saying He will do the same to you, but why risk  it?  Look at your circle of friends and decide for yourself if God approves.

Leave a Reply

