Are You LIstening to God?

Psalm 102 

Hear my prayer, O Lord, and let my cry come unto thee.

Hide not thy face from me in the day when I am in trouble; incline thine ear unto me: in the day when I call answer me speedily.

The psalmist has a deep desire for God to hear his prayer.  So do we.  This is a cry any one of us could have at any moment of the  day.  We want God to hear our prayer, and to be there when we are in trouble.  And we want as speedy answer.  In our microwave generation, if the answer is not there within a day or two, we get nervous, thinking maybe God  did not  hear us, or  forgot  about us, or even worse, that He said no.  Sometimes, we expect God to answer us in the way we want things to come out.  we presuppose that God will say yes.  That is not the  way it works.   He is God – He will decide the answer, and He will do it on His time.

But here’s another question.  Do we hear God when He cries out to us?  Are we intent on hearing Him when we take time in prayer?  Do we hide our face from Him when trouble comes our way?  I would guess there are many times when we are in trouble and we go to God n prayer, we are so busy making our request that we don;t take the time to listen to His answer!  He might be answering right when we are asking, but our ear is not inclined to Him and His words to us.  Have you ever thought about that?  I think about it all the time. Am I listening to God enough?  Do I hear Him every time He tries  to talk to me?  When I am writing my blogs, I always pray that God will speak through me, and it’s not just my mind putting these words down.  If they are His words, they will minster to the reader.  That is my hearts desire.

For my days are consumed like smoke, and my bones are burned as an hearth.

My heart is smitten, and withered like grass; so that I forget to eat my bread.

By reason of the voice of my groaning my bones cleave to my skin.

I am like a pelican of the wilderness: I am like an owl of the desert.

I watch, and am as a sparrow alone upon the house top.

Here we have someone who is  longing for an answer from God.  It sounds like he has bee praying for a while, and still has not seen the answer come.  The days have been wasted it seems, vanishing like smoke, and he is distressed.  His appetite s gone and he is losing weight.  A pelican in the wilderness, or an owl in the desert, are out of place, and will not survive in those environments.  He is in a bad place.  Can you identify with that?  Have there been times that your prayers seem to go unanswered and you just feel like the problem goes on and on?  You can see that you’re not alone – this writer, and I’m sure many other people, are in the same place as you are.

Mine enemies reproach me all the day; and they that are mad against me are sworn against me.

For I have eaten ashes like bread, and mingled my drink with weeping.

10 Because of thine indignation and thy wrath: for thou hast lifted me up, and cast me down.

11 My days are like a shadow that declineth; and I am withered like grass.

The enemy is even coming against him, as if his own problems aren’t enough.  Do you have that person who just always seems to be digging into your side, causing you agony just by the sound of their voice  They are always against you and oftne bring you to tears with their snide remarks.  Do they make you feel like the world is against you, and your life is just worthless?

12 But thou, O Lord, shall endure for ever; and thy remembrance unto all generations.

13 Thou shalt arise, and have mercy upon Zion: for the time to favour her, yea, the set time, is come.

14 For thy servants take pleasure in her stones, and favour the dust thereof.

15 So the heathen shall fear the name of the Lord, and all the kings of the earth thy glory.

16 When the Lord shall build up Zion, he shall appear in his glory.

But thou, Oh Lord!   I love to hear those words n the middle of a psalm.  The writer knows that God will never abandon His city or His people.  God endures forever, and H ell have mercy o His people.  No matter what comes, we can take pleasure in knowing God is still on the throne.  He will build us up, and His glory will shine through.  That’s what will happen when the answer comes.

You see, God will never abandon us.  This is so important to remember when we are going through tough times.  He will never abandons us.  He is always there, guiding us every step of the way.  It is so important n these hard times to listen for God to speak and not just pray to God.  He will tell you what to do if you listen closely.  The Holy Spirit will guide you through if you are tuned in to Him.  Never doubt that!  Practice listening when times are good, and ti will be easier to hear Him when they are not so good.

17 He will regard the prayer of the destitute, and not despise their prayer.

18 This shall be written for the generation to come: and the people which shall be created shall praise the Lord.

19 For he hath looked down from the height of his sanctuary; from heaven did the Lord behold the earth;

20 To hear the groaning of the prisoner; to loose those that are appointed to death;

21 To declare the name of the Lord in Zion, and his praise in Jerusalem;

This writer knew that someday, future generations would be reading this word, and we would praise the Lord because of it.  Imagine that?  Doesn’t that alone bring encouragement to you?  God will look down from the heavens an hear those that are desperate for Him.  He will loose us from our bondage so that we can declare His name.

When the answer to your payer comes, are you quick to give God the glory, or do you say, the doctors were great, or my friend came through and helped us out, or that things just worked out right?  Be quick to give God the glory!  Be quick to sing His praises!  I am impressed with all the knowledge of the doctors and nurses who have helped me through this battle I am in, but God gets the glory, every time.  I lift up His name for being so merciful to me.

22 When the people are gathered together, and the kingdoms, to serve the Lord.

23 He weakened my strength in the way; he shortened my days.

24 I said, O my God, take me not away in the midst of my days: thy years are throughout all generations.

It is my hearts desire to serve the Lord, and encourage others to  do the same, all the days of my life.  And  I pray that those days will be many, not few.  I want to reach as many people as  can with the good news of His salvation and His undying mercy to us.  The writer here felt same way.  He asks God not to take him away in the middle of his life, but feels God has shortened his days for some reason.  He says God has weakened his strength.

God has weakened my strength as well.  This cancer is a beast, and the side effects have me copped up inside most of the time.  So I have taken to writing these blogs.  And God is using them to minister to people.  I just want to shout out and praise Him for using me in any way He can.  I refuse to just sit here and do nothing.  There s so much I can contribute, and bring Him glory in the process.  I know when His full healing comes and I have regained my strength that He has great things in store.  Until that time, I will write of His great love for you!

25 Of old hast thou laid the foundation of the earth: and the heavens are the work of thy hands.

26 They shall perish, but thou shalt endure: yea, all of them shall wax old like a garment; as a vesture shalt thou change them, and they shall be changed:

27 But thou art the same, and thy years shall have no end.

28 The children of thy servants shall continue, and their seed shall be established before thee.

God has been forever, and will be forever.  Hew does not change, and His purpose does not change.  His servants will continue throughout time, and  plan to be one of them.  I will serve the Lord unabashedly for as long as He decides to give me breath in hopes of winning just one soul for Christ.  If He decides to lengthen my days, those days will be spent in glorifying His name  If He decides to shorten my days, I pray my songs and poems will be sent on around the world to minister to people.  He s a good God, and I wiill love Him regardless of the outcome.

Leave a Reply

