Light Guides Us Away From Destruction

My best friend, who served in the military for 25 years in both Vietnam and Iraq, sent this to me for my birthday.  He is suffering with unstable angina, degenerative nerve damage and a host of other things due to the chemicals he faced there.  But he loves the Lord, and I am so thankful for his friendship.  This touched my heart today, so I thought I’d share it.

Make my steps secure through your promise, and do not let any sin control me.  Ps 119:33  

The Piercing beam from the lantern atop the lighthouse chases away the darkness covering the surface of the water.  The captain of the  ships in the area depend on the light to help them avoid the rocks and sandbars that could sink their ships.  They know that following the light is the only way for them to guide their vessels safely into the harbor. There are also many dangers and pitfalls in this life. There are many opportunities to dash your life against the rocks. But God and promised the light of His presence of all those who seek it.  Ask God to shine His light into your life and guide you safely into the harbor.  You can depend on Him.

And those who repay evil for good,  They oppose me, because I follow what is good.  Ps 38:20  

The steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord: and he delighted in his way  Ps 37 23  

Happy are those who are strong in the Lord,  who want above all else to follow your steps  Ps 84:5

Leave a Reply

