Psalms

Mercy For the Poor and Needy

Psalm 109 A Psalm of David

Hold not thy peace, O God of my praise;

For the mouth of the wicked and the mouth of the deceitful are opened against me: they have spoken against me with a lying tongue.

They compassed me about also with words of hatred; and fought against me without a cause.

For my love they are my adversaries: but I give myself unto prayer.

And they have rewarded me evil for good, and hatred for my love.

Do you ever have time when you think God is too quiet? You just want him to speak to your situation and make it change as soon as possible? David was in that kind of position. He told God not to hold his peace. The wicked are all around him speaking words of hatred and they’re fighting against him for no reason again. I think we all have moments like that.  We want God to just speak to the situation and make it go away. Unfortunately, He has His own timing. Fortunately, His timing is always perfect

David says that for his love they are his adversaries. We have to remember that the love he’s talking about here is his love of God. Do you have people who persecute you for your love of God? They make fun of you because you worship the God of the heavens? You don’t need to worry about those people. Just give yourself to prayer like David did and everything will come out alright. God is your defense

Set thou a wicked man over him: and let Satan stand at his right hand.

When he shall be judged, let him be condemned: and let his prayer become sin.

Let his days be few; and let another take his office.

Let his children be fatherless, and his wife a widow.

10 Let his children be continually vagabonds, and beg: let them seek their bread also out of their desolate places.

11 Let the extortioner catch all that he hath; and let the strangers spoil his labour.

12 Let there be none to extend mercy unto him: neither let there be any to favour his fatherless children.

13 Let his posterity be cut off; and in the generation following let their name be blotted out.

14 Let the iniquity of his fathers be remembered with the Lord; and let not the sin of his mother be blotted out.

15 Let them be before the Lord continually, that he may cut off the memory of them from the earth.

I have to admit that I have prayed some prayers  for God to take care of my enemies. But I have never prayed a prayer quite like David prayed here.  He really wants his enemies taken care of. I’m not going to go through all of these points that he makes but he asked God to condemn them,  to make his days few, that his children will be fatherless and his wife will be a widow,  that his children will be vagabonds and beggars.  He goes right down the list!  He wants his enemy destroyed completely.
What I like about this prayer is that it’s very specific. I think often we get too big with our prayers. We don’t tell God exactly what we want Him to do. Now now I agree God’s going to do what he wants anyway, but I think He likes it when we pray specifically. It helps God to know that we understand the power that He has and what He can do if He wants to. What are you praying for your friends or praying against your enemies.  Do you tell God exactly what you’d like Him to do stead of just saying  will you take care of them for me God.

16 Because that he remembered not to shew mercy, but persecuted the poor and needy man, that he might even slay the broken in heart.

17 As he loved cursing, so let it come unto him: as he delighted not in blessing, so let it be far from him.

18 As he clothed himself with cursing like as with his garment, so let it come into his bowels like water, and like oil into his bones.

19 Let it be unto him as the garment which covereth him, and for a girdle wherewith he is girded continually.

20 Let this be the reward of mine adversaries from the Lord, and of them that speak evil against my soul.

Now look at the reason that David prays all these prayers against this enemy. They did not show Mercy. They persecuted the poor and the needy. The highest calling of God is to show Mercy and to take care of the poor and the needy. David knew this was God’s heart and so when he saw people that weren’t doing that he considered them his enemies. Do you do what you can to take care of the poor and the needy in your area? Are you merciful to those around you? If you are then God is pleased.
Then he continues to talk about how he wants God to take care of these people that were not merciful and once again he’s very specific about it.  He asks God to reward him according to what he’s done to others. That is what God will give us.  He will give us what we’ve given to others. Does that give you a positive outlook?

21 But do thou for me, O God the Lord, for thy name’s sake: because thy mercy is good, deliver thou me.

22 For I am poor and needy, and my heart is wounded within me.

23 I am gone like the shadow when it declineth: I am tossed up and down as the locust.

24 My knees are weak through fasting; and my flesh faileth of fatness.

25 I became also a reproach unto them: when they looked upon me they shaked their heads.

Now David comes to the Lord and ask for his Mercy because he is poor and needy. His heart has been wounded by his enemy. And since David knows that God will comfort the poor and needy he trusts God to do exactly that to him. I love the saying in verse 23 that he is gone like a shadow when it declines. He feels like he has just faded out of his own kingdom and his weak  body has failed him. He needs the strength of the Lord. He calls upon God because of His name that he would have mercy on him. And we know that God will have mercy on him

26 Help me, O Lord my God: O save me according to thy mercy:

27 That they may know that this is thy hand; that thou, Lord, hast done it.

28 Let them curse, but bless thou: when they arise, let them be ashamed; but let thy servant rejoice.

29 Let mine adversaries be clothed with shame, and let them cover themselves with their own confusion, as with a mantle.

30 I will greatly praise the Lord with my mouth; yea, I will praise him among the multitude.

31 For he shall stand at the right hand of the poor, to save him from those that condemn his soul.

David once again ends the psalm by saying that he will praise the Lord and he will praise him in the multitude. We’re seeing Dave keeps a continuous stream of praise to God even in the midst of struggle. It’s a lesson that we’ve talked about over and over again as we’re reading the Psalms and one that can’t be stressed enough. In the middle of our hard times and our struggles we need to continue to praise God. Nothing should keep us from that.
He also mentions that God will be at the right hand of the poor. God is always there to help those who can’t help themselves. The question is how are we fulfilling the mission that he gives us to help those very same people. We have a call on our lives to do that and we need to work hard to see Jesus in everyone we meet. Remember Jesus said if we do it to the least of these, we do it to Him as well. Let’s take His message to those who need it and let’s Minister whenever we have an opportunity to touch people’s lives
Leave a Reply

