Psalms

Light In The Darkness

Psalm 112

Praise ye the Lord. Blessed is the man that feareth the Lord, that delighteth greatly in his commandments.

His seed shall be mighty upon earth: the generation of the upright shall be blessed.

Wealth and riches shall be in his house: and his righteousness endureth for ever.

In the last psalm we read that the fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom. Now we read that, if you fear the Lord, you’ll be blessed. I think there’s plenty of incentive for us to have an awe and wonder about our Lord. I’m going to keep that righteous fear alive in my life, knowing that He reigns Supreme over all things. I’m also going to delight in His Commandments. That will also bring blessing to my life. Blessings like my seed being mighty upon the Earth and that my generations also being blessed. There’s nothing I want more for my children and grandchildren than to have them among the blessed. I am already celebrating because the last of my three daughters is now going back to church. What a wonderful blessing that is.

Not only will we be blessed and our seed will be blessed.  Wealth and riches will be in our house. Now at this time I have to admit that I am not a wealthy man when it comes to monetary gain. But I count myself rich in the things of the Lord. Things like joy, peace, mercy, grace and patience. These things are very much alive in my life and I count those a lot more important to me then the riches of this world, which will be left behind. I also have a family that loves me and supports me, and I have a lot of friends who are praying for me as I battle cancer.  How much more blessed and rich can I get?

Unto the upright there ariseth light in the darkness: he is gracious, and full of compassion, and righteous.

A good man sheweth favour, and lendeth: he will guide his affairs with discretion.

Surely he shall not be moved for ever: the righteous shall be in everlasting remembrance.

I love the beginning of this portion. Unto the upright He rises light in the darkness. We don’t have to worry about finding our way through this life.  There will be periods of darkness that will come our way and if we didn’t have the Lord we would wander and wonder when we could come out of it. But if we’re upright, God will shine His light in the darkness. The psalmist writes that his word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path (Psalm 119:105). God will always shine his light to help us through the dark periods of our life just like a ship looks for the lighthouse on those foggy nights. What a blessing it is to know that God will rescue us. When we are upright we act gracious, full of compassion and righteous. We will show favor and lend to people when they need help. And we will guide our affairs with discretion. I think that’s part of the wisdom that we gain by fearing the Lord. He gives us discretion to choose the right thing and to say the right thing.
The upright will not be moved forever. We will always be by His side and He will always be there to comfort us. I never want to move too far away from my Lord. And this verse says if I’m upright I will not be moved.  Nothing will be able to make me stray from His side. We will be in everlasting remembrance of the Lord. He will never forget that we’re there, counting on Him to watch over us and keep us.

He shall not be afraid of evil tidings: his heart is fixed, trusting in the Lord.

His heart is established, he shall not be afraid, until he see his desire upon his enemies.

Fear will not rule our lives. If we hear some bad news then we will not be afraid, but we will trust in the Lord because our heart is fixed on God. My heart will not stray from understanding His promises and I will have His testimony on my lips day in and day out knowing that it is my testimony that brings victory. My heart is not only fixed but it’s established, so that I will not fear.  Eventually God will grant my request concerning my enemy. I don’t have to do anything but pray and bring my enemy before the Lord. I just need to trust Him to take care of that situation and He will.  I need to be careful not to take matters into my own hands but allow God to do the work instead

He hath dispersed, he hath given to the poor; his righteousness endureth for ever; his horn shall be exalted with honour.

10 The wicked shall see it, and be grieved; he shall gnash with his teeth, and melt away: the desire of the wicked shall perish.

The upright man helps the poor. He does not turn his back on those that have need but he reaches out and does what he can to help them. The horn as a symbol of power. When he says his horn shall be exalted with honor what it means to me is that the upright and righteous man will be given honor among the people for his good deeds. When this happens we need to make sure to give the glory to God and not keep it for ourselves. It is God who works through us to do those things.
The good deeds that we do and all the blessings that we’ve listed above will be seen by those who come against us and it will grieve them. They will see that even though they constantly come against us we walk in victory and don’t let it affect us. We continue to do those things that God asks us to do and God pours out His blessings on us despite all the enemies ranting and raving. Eventually the enemy will see that he cannot get to us. He will walk away defeated and downcast because we have left that matter in God’s hands and God has blessed us tremendously.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Light In The Darkness”

Leave a Reply

