The Blood Applied

Psalm 114

When Israel went out of Egypt, the house of Jacob from a people of strange language;

Judah was his sanctuary, and Israel his dominion.

When Israel went out of Egypt – what an amazing deliverance it was.  They had been slaves for 400 years, under the hard hand of a pharaoh who had forgotten the blessing Joseph was to his forefathers.  The taskmasters were brutal, and the labor was difficult at  best.  The  Moses returned and at first made  their burden even more difficult.  But the plagues eventually took their toll, and the tenth one sealed the deal.  All the firstborn of Egypt died at the hand of the death angel, while all the Israelite first born survived if they had the blood applied.  The next morning, the Egyptians loaded up the Israelite with all  kinds of gifts and told them  to get out of their land, which they did.  The Bible tells us it was about 600,000 men, and with woman and children, the number could easily be  2.5 to 3.5 million.  What an amazing  Exodus that would have been to witness.

The blood has been shed for our deliverance as well.  Jesus blood on the cross paid for our redemption from sin.  Notice the similarity.  In Exodus,  the blood was applied on the doorposts (both sides of the door) and above the door, which then dripped down to the entry way.  Jesus blood was on His hands from the nails (door posts) and His head from the thorns (above the door) and His feet (dripped down from the headboard).  In Exodus, they had to eat the Passover Lamb, all of it.  Jesus is called the Lamb of God, who takes away the sins of the world (John 1:29).  You have been set free by the blood of the Lamb,m Jesus Christ.  have you accepted His sacrifice for your sins?

The sea saw it, and fled: Jordan was driven back.

The mountains skipped like rams, and the little hills like lambs.

What ailed thee, O thou sea, that thou fleddest? thou Jordan, that thou wast driven back?

Ye mountains, that ye skipped like rams; and ye little hills, like lambs?

The Red Sea saw the Exodus, and so did the Jordan River.  Both of these mighty bodies of water were parted to make way for the Israelites to pass.  To me, the parting of the Jordan was even more amazing  then the Red Sea, because the Jordan was a moving Riv er, where the Red Sea was in place and stationary.  The Jordan was at flood stage, and was overflowing it’s banks and running very strong.  To stop this river long enough for 2.5 to 3.5 million people to cross is absolutely mind boggling.  The river would have backed up all the way to the Sea of Galilee, unless God just stopped the flow all the way back (even more amazing)

He can stop anything that stands in our way to His promises.  There is no obstacle to hard for Him to remove. And we do not have to find a way to go around those obstacles – He wants us to go right through them by His power, not our own.  Can you imagine if the Israelites tried to cross the Jordan by their own power?  Or go through the Red Sea?  They could not goo around either.  They would have to go hundreds of miles to do that.  He can even make the mountains to skip out of your way  if He needs to!  Never doubt the power of our God when you are facing a problem.  He will see you through to His promises every time.

Tremble, thou earth, at the presence of the Lord, at the presence of the God of Jacob;

Which turned the rock into a standing water, the flint into a fountain of waters.

The earth trembles at God’s command, and water comes from a rock.  The impossible happens when God comes on the scene.  Seas part, rivers stop, food and drink are provided from nowhere, the sun and moon stop in place for 24 hours,   Goliath falls, The pillars of the Philistine temple collapse, the fiery furnace doesn’t singe three men, the lions mouths are shut, the dead man walks out of the tomb.  I  could go on and on.  Miracles happen when God shows up.

Maybe nothing this dramatic has happened in your life, but I would guess, if you really thought about it, miracles have happened in your life. I would love to hear about them in the comments section.  As for me, my friend pulled me out from sure drowning, I rolled a Triumph Spitfire convertible and walked away,  I dropped a heavy gas grill on my head and had no pains afterword, countless accidents were seconds away from me, I fell in my bathroom and scarred up my face bad, but my glasses did not break which could have been much worse.  I could go on as well, but  want to hear yours.  Please comment.

Our God is very much alive, and still performing miracles all the time on our behalf.  Never underestimate the power He has to deliver you.  Never underestimate His love for you.

 

2 thoughts on “The Blood Applied

  1. When I was twenty I was driving a farm truck down a dirt road, the kind with no stop signs at the corners, and usually no traffic. I had a box of clothes sitting beside me with a little New Testament sitting on the clothes. I was daydreaming a bit, not seeing another truck approaching from the left. As soon as I saw it, I hit the brakes, but hit that truck right in front of it’s back wheels. It spun my truck around 180 degrees, stopping just past the intersection, ripping off the front of my truck, wheels, engine and all. There was a big bang and all I could see was dust. As I sat there and the dust cleared, the first thing I saw through the dust was that little New Testament, sitting out there on the dirt, right in the center of the intersection. I thought, “Wow!” All I had was a few sore muscles and bruises. Now I pay attention better when driving, I notice God makes everything happen with precision, and I love his word.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

