I Love You, Lord

Psalm 116

I love the Lord, because he hath heard my voice and my supplications.

Because he hath inclined his ear unto me, therefore will I call upon him as long as I live.

What a great way to start out a psalm – by saying I love the Lord. This is how we should start everyday. I love you Lord! I love you because you hear my voice. When I sit in the quiet darkness of my room, before I rise from my bed, you hear my supplications. You hear the prayers that I offered you for those around me that I have promised to pray for. You hear the praise of my lips lifting you up because of my love for you. And you hear all these because you inclined your ear to me. You lean down and put your ear to my lips and listen to every word I speak. It’s hard to find that in this world, but you promised it everyday. I will call upon you as long as I live. I love you Lord

The sorrows of death compassed me, and the pains of hell gat hold upon me: I found trouble and sorrow.

Then called I upon the name of the Lord; O Lord, I beseech thee, deliver my soul.

Gracious is the Lord, and righteous; yea, our God is merciful.

The Lord preserveth the simple: I was brought low, and he helped me.

I have found trouble in my days. There were some days that death seemed close and pain was all around. But I called on you and asked you to deliver my soul. You were gracious to me, O Lord. Your grace is more than I ever deserve. You give, and you give and you give again. I am far from perfect and yet your treat me as your son and you shower me with blessing. I often cannot even contain my praise.  Your grace is sufficient in those times of difficulty when I feel like death and pain are all over me.
You deal with me righteously Lord. You always do what is for my best. I never have to worry about what direction you are taking me because it is always for my good. And you are merciful. You overlook my faults and you strength and me when I am struggling. Your mercy carries me through when your prayers take time to get to me. You watch over me and preserve me in the times when I am down. In those difficult times you help me to deal with the struggles that are around me. I love you Lord.

Return unto thy rest, O my soul; for the Lord hath dealt bountifully with thee.

For thou hast delivered my soul from death, mine eyes from tears, and my feet from falling.

I will walk before the Lord in the land of the living.

Now my soul can rest in you Lord because you have dealt bountifully with me. You have given me much more than I could ever deserve and you have forgiven me much more then I could ever deserve. You delivered me from death many times over. I could go back through my life to times when I was close to death. I almost drowned in a pond, I flipped over a car, I almost overdosed on drugs, I almost had alcohol poisoning, I dropped a gas grill on my head. So many times you have kept my soul from death.
You have also kept my eyes from tears except the tears of joy. You have brought me through trials that made me cry and you have brought me through being around friends that had difficult times and it made me cry. But you relieved my tears. You have kept my feet from falling as I have walked before you Lord. I have not stumbled too far to the left or to the right as you have kept me on the straight and narrow throughout my life. There are times that I have fallen and you have showed me the way to get up. Now I vow to walk before you and stay in the land of the living. I love you Lord.

10 I believed, therefore have I spoken: I was greatly afflicted:

11 I said in my haste, All men are liars.

12 What shall I render unto the Lord for all his benefits toward me?

13 I will take the cup of salvation, and call upon the name of the Lord.

I was greatly afflicted but I believe, so I am speaking of your great love for me. The men around me have lied to me and told me a false report. But I believed. I decided to believe what you told me when I was afflicted, Lord. You tell me you will see me through. You tell me that your mercy and your grace will carry me through any trial. You tell me that you are a shield around me to keep those things away from me that I can’t handle. You tell me that you will preserve me in times of trouble. You tell me that you will keep my feet from falling. I choose to believe you, oh Lord, because men give false reports
So what can I give you for all the benefits that you give to me, oh God? I will take your salvation that you have given me as a free gift. You sent your Son to die on a cross in my place. He took my sins away that day.  He provided for my healing and He provided for my peace and my joy. Therefore I will call upon you Lord and praise your name forever. I love you Lord

14 I will pay my vows unto the Lord now in the presence of all his people.

15 Precious in the sight of the Lord is the death of his saints.

When I make a vow to you Lord I will keep that vow in front of all the people. I know that if I do not keep my vow I will bring disdain unto your name. People think less of you from what they see in me if I’m not careful. So I must behave myself in a way that brings glory to your name day in and day out. I must reflect the love of Jesus in everything I do. I must show others that love through the walk that I have each day.
 When I look at death I often don’t see an upside in this world. When I look at it from your point of view I see that you rejoice when a saint of yours passes on from life to death. That saint is in heaven rejoicing with you once his life on this Earth is over. I will be with you forever and that is precious to you, oh God. You will rejoice when my mission on this earth is done and you can call me home. I love you Lord

16 O Lord, truly I am thy servant; I am thy servant, and the son of thine handmaid: thou hast loosed my bonds.

17 I will offer to thee the sacrifice of thanksgiving, and will call upon the name of the Lord.

18 I will pay my vows unto the Lord now in the presence of all his people.

19 In the courts of the Lord‘s house, in the midst of thee, O Jerusalem. Praise ye the Lord.

Lord, I am your servant. You have set me free and I am pledging myself to you. You have given me a choice to see you or to stay in this world. I much prefer to be serving you God because it is there that I can realize the full potential of my life. As I walk in your plan instead of mine I will help so many more people and I will be blessed beyond measure. The greatest thrill is just to be in your presence as I offer you my thanksgiving. Some days it may be a sacrifice for me to give that thanks, but I will call upon your name as often as I can. You are worthy of my praise.
Once again I promise to pay my vows to you, Lord, in front of all the congregation and in front of all the people. And the biggest vow I have is to share my testimony and to give you praise all the days of my life. As a Christian I should not be going about complaining about my lot in life no matter what it is. But I should be lifting up your name and telling people what a great thing you have done in my life, because you have done great things. You have been so merciful to me. I love you Lord
Leave a Reply

