He Takes My Side

Psalm 118

O give thanks unto the Lord; for he is good: because his mercy endureth for ever.

Let Israel now say, that his mercy endureth for ever.

Let the house of Aaron now say, that his mercy endureth for ever.

Let them now that fear the Lord say, that his mercy endureth for ever.

Two reasons are immediately given for thanking the Lord. He is good and His mercy endureth forever. What other reasons do we need? If this is the reason that we’re giving thanks to the Lord, then there is never a reason not to give thanks to the Lord. These two things are true, always, no matter what we’re going through, no matter what circumstances may come about, no matter how I am feeling. He is always good and His Mercy will always endure forever.  We can depend on those two things as much as we can depend on the sun coming up in the morning. Never forget that. It is always time to give thanks to the Lord.
Now again we see author talking about the three classification of people we’ve talked about before. The nation of Israel, the house of Aaron and those that fear the Lord. As we talked about before the nation of Israel is all those who have accepted Jesus Christ as Savior in the New Testament. We Are Spiritual Israel. The house of Aaron is the priesthood and we are called a royal priesthood if we know the Savior. And we should always have that reverence and fear of the Lord. So we should be saying that God’s mercy endures forever in our hearts and to those that we talk to all the time.

I called upon the Lord in distress: the Lord answered me, and set me in a large place.

The Lord is on my side; I will not fear: what can man do unto me?

The Lord taketh my part with them that help me: therefore shall I see my desire upon them that hate me.

When we take time to call upon the Lord in our troubles He is there to help us. He will answer and the author says He will set us in a large place. Do you ever feel like the walls are crashing in on you when you’re in the midst of a trial or troubles? I know I do at times. I’m thankful when I get into those times that God sets me in a large place where He can take care of me and watch over me. It is good to know that He is on my side. I do not have to fear because the enemy really can’t do anything to me when God is around.  The Lord has given us victory on the cross of Calvary and we are free.
He also takes my side with others that help me. When you tell people about the trouble that you’re going through and they start praying for you, God teams up with them to bring strength back to you. Isn’t that a wonderful thought? He takes part with those that help us! I’m glad to know there’s a team out there watching out for me. I’m glad to know God is working together with all those prayer warriors out there to bring blessing my way. And once I have been helped and endure through my trial, the desire that I have on my enemies will be accomplished.

It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man.

It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in princes.

I wanted to separate this out because a lot of times we put our confidence in man or we put our confidence in the government. We hope things will get better in our Christian walk if we watch a certain Ministry  or if the government will just get things straightened out. We hope the nation gets its act together because we have a new Administration. So we start to put our trust in our lawmakers to bring our nation back two civility and back to God. We are hopeful they can bring law and order to our inner cities. We are hopeful they can stop the violence that is happening with guns and terrorism. We are hoping they can return financial stability here in America.
But it is better to trust in the Lord than any of these other things. Man will let us down. The government will let us down. It’s Jesus who can bring us out. That is what our country needs more than anything else. To turn their hearts to the Lord and put their trust in Him. I know the likelihood of that is slim. The church needs to be the prayer warriors that bring this about. That’s the only way it we want to have our nation turn to God. So let’s make sure we trust in the Lord with all of our hearts and are not putting our confidence in man or in the government

10 All nations compassed me about: but in the name of the Lord will I destroy them.

11 They compassed me about; yea, they compassed me about: but in the name of the Lord I will destroy them.

12 They compassed me about like bees: they are quenched as the fire of thorns: for in the name of the Lord I will destroy them.

The author shows his confidence in the Lord. Even though he is surrounded by the enemy in God’s name he will destroy them.  He repeat the same thing in all three verses for emphasis. We must remember that our enemies are too hard for us to defeat ourselves. It is the name of the Lord that we can use to vanquish the enemy. In his name we have strength. In his name we have victory. In his name we have deliverance. In his name we have power. In his name is our salvation. In his name we can do all things. Don’t try to take it alone. When you have God on your side, He will destroy the enemy.  All you need to do is call on His name.

13 Thou hast thrust sore at me that I might fall: but the Lord helped me.

14 The Lord is my strength and song, and is become my salvation.

15 The voice of rejoicing and salvation is in the tabernacles of the righteous: the right hand of the Lord doeth valiantly.

16 The right hand of the Lord is exalted: the right hand of the Lord doeth valiantly.

17 I shall not die, but live, and declare the works of the Lord.

18 The Lord hath chastened me sore: but he hath not given me over unto death.

I’m so glad when I look at the Lord that I see strength. If you have not noticed,  the last 4 days I’ve been in the hospital with pneumonia.  It would have been easy for me to get down at this set back in my treatments. But I have the Lord. He helped me. He put in your heart to pray for me and then he teamed up with you to give me strength and to give me a -song in the midst of my troubles. I never got down-hearted, distressed, or feeling sorry for myself. I just rejoiced in the Lord because I knew that He would see me through. I knew there wasn’t anything to worry about because I had a lot of prayer warriors praying for me. I knew that the Lord does valiantly in my behalf. He will not be defeated and as a result I will not be defeated. If I rely on His strength to see me through I’ll be fine
We must exalt His name. That’s what we are here for – to exalt Him. He is our Savior and our deliverer. He gives us salvation and He does mighty things on our behalf. I will declare the works of the Lord as long as I live. Even if the enemy comes against me to give me a hard time, God will not give me over to death. He will leave me to declare His works and declare my testimony how my great God watches over me and keeps me. I can always depend that God will do valiantly on my behalf period

19 Open to me the gates of righteousness: I will go into them, and I will praise the Lord:

20 This gate of the Lord, into which the righteous shall enter.

21 I will praise thee: for thou hast heard me, and art become my salvation.

I must walk in righteousness.  I must make that decision to live my life in a way that God is pleased. The writer says God opens the gates of righteousness and I have to make up my mind to go into them. I must make up my mind to do what is right and just to my neighbor , my friend,  my coworker, my enemy, my family and to anyone else I come in contact with. God is watching us to see if we walk in the righteousness of Christ or if we walk in our own filthy rag righteousness. Which would you choose?
When you know that the Lord has heard you, I pray that you loifted up your voice and praised Him.   I pray that you give Him all the glory and all the honor for saving you from that trial or that test.  He certainly deserves it. We have no reason to withhold that praise from Him. I’m not going to give credit to the doctors or the nurses. I’m going to give all the credit to God and all the glory to Him. He is most worthy of that.

22 The stone which the builders refused is become the head stone of the corner.

23 This is the Lord‘s doing; it is marvellous in our eyes.

24 This is the day which the Lord hath made; we will rejoice and be glad in it.

25 Save now, I beseech thee, O Lord: O Lord, I beseech thee, send now prosperity.

26 Blessed be he that cometh in the name of the Lord: we have blessed you out of the house of the Lord.

Here’s a look into the future. This portion of scripture is used in the New Testament writings.  Jesus Christ was rejected by those who were in authority but instead of just being buried and dead,  He became the headstone of the whole church. It is amazing how He change your world when He died and rose again. I’m so thankful that Jesus was willing to give His life in place of mine. It is a marvelous thing in my eyes. Every time I contemplate the sacrifice He made and I get a glimpse of him hanging there on that cross covered in blood for my sins it makes me weep. It also makes me celebrate.
This is the day which the Lord has made. There is never a day that we cannot start the morning with those words because God makes every day. Whether it’s sunny or stormy, hot or cold, windy or calm, God made that day. Therefore we should rejoice in every day. and we should be glad everyday. They’re all made by Him. When we come in the name of the Lord we are blessed beyond measure.  I praise God for the blessing that He places upon His saints. Over and over again He takes care of us because it is His day.

27 God is the Lord, which hath shewed us light: bind the sacrifice with cords, even unto the horns of the altar.

28 Thou art my God, and I will praise thee: thou art my God, I will exalt thee.

29 O give thanks unto the Lord; for he is good: for his mercy endureth for ever.

God has showed us the light. He has set the light in place to reveal to us our sin. This way we know that we need a Savior. We can take the sacrifices and bring them before God’s throne. He has forgiven us and given us a light to share with others. Let us not be negligent to share that light wherever we go.
We have been put here to praise and exaltat His name.  This is how the world will know that Jesus loves them. We can do all the good deeds we want, start charities and give. But if we don’t show them our praise they will never see how much we love God. And if they don’t see our love for God they will wonder why there’s a reason to serve God. If we praise the Lord and we actually do his will by doing what He did when He was on this Earth, we will do what is good and what is merciful to all that we come in contact with.  He is good and His Mercy endures forever. We should be good and be merciful all the time as well.
2 thoughts on “He Takes My Side

Leave a Reply

