Your Word Is In My Heart

Beth

9  How can a young man cleanse his way?  By taking heed according to Your word.
How I wish I had turned to you in my youth, Lord.  I wasted 10 years in following the world and ignoring your word.  But I finally came back to you when I turned 24, and I am so glad I did.  You cleansed me and made me whole again, and now I take heed to your word as well as I can.
10  With my whole heart I have sought You; Oh, let me not wander from Your commandments!
If I apply my whole heart to follow you, I will not turn to the left or the right.  I will not wander away from your truth.  Help me to stay focused, Lord
11   Your word I have hidden in my heart, that I might not sin against You.
Deep down inside of me, your word keeps me on the straight and narrow path.  I have read the bible cover to cover many times, and have studied your word for decades.  It is hid in my heart so I can recall it when it is needed.  I praise your Holy Spirit who brings our word to my remembrance when I need to hear from you.
12  Blessed are You, O Lord!  Teach me Your statutes.
I will bless your name every day because daily you teach me your word and help me apply it to my life.
13  With my lips I have declared all the judgments of Your mouth.
I have given my testimony throughout the land, and have shared your word time and time again with those who need to hear it.
14  I have rejoiced in the way of your testimonies, As much as in all riches.
My joy does not come from the riches or possessions I have attained in this life.  My joy comes from having you walk close to  me and having you hear my prayers.  My joy comes from knowing your word and making it the central part of my life, knowing that your promises are true and everlasting.  My joy comes in knowing you will never fail me.
15  I will meditate on Your precepts, and contemplate Your ways.
My thoughts will be on your precepts, which contain promises that are for my life.  Promises of healing, deliverance, salvation, blessing, guidance and so much more.  As I meditate on them, they become reality both in my mind and in my life.
16  I will delight myself in Your statutes; I will not forget Your word.
There are times when your word is hard to hear because it asks me to do something that is opposite what this world would say.  For example, James tells us to rejoice when you fall into diverse temptations (James 1:2).  This is contrary to what the world would expect as a reaction to tough times.  But I delight to make them a part of my life.  I will rejoice in you always and take delight in walking according to your word.  I will never forget the promises you have given to me.
Leave a Reply

