Psalms

Turn My Eyes, Lord

Psalm 119: 33-40  He

33  Teach me, O Lord, the way of Your statutes, and I shall keep it to the end.
Help me to learn every word of your statues, Lord.  I want to be able to keep them in my heart, and be obedient to your word all of my days.  Teach me what to do in every situation in life.  I know that you’re word gives direction for all areas of my life.  help me to know what to do.
34  Give me understanding, and I shall keep Your law;  indeed, I shall observe it with my whole heart.
 If I have that understanding of your law, I will be able to keep it so much better.  I see many people running around disobeying,but most of them do not know your words.  I want to know them so well that I can observe them in my everyday life.  I will put my whole heart into following your word if I have that kind of understanding.
35  Make me walk in the path of Your commandments, for I delight in it.
When I walk in your ways, there is joy and peace that floods my entire being.  I don;t worry about what tomorrow will bring.  I know I am on the right path, and  just sing your praises all day long.  That is why I take great delight in walking in your ways.
36  Incline my heart to Your testimonies, and not to covetousness.
My heart will either go to the world and it’s ways, or to you, Lord, and your ways.  if I fall into the world’s ways, I will covet!  I will covet fame and fortune.  I will covet things that please my flesh.  I will covet material possessions.  I will covet attention.  The list goes on and on.  That is why I desire to incline myself to your testimonies!
37  Turn away my eyes from looking at worthless things, and revive me in Your way.
My eyes deceive me on a regular bass, telling my flesh it is OK to look at things I should be steering away from.  Things that bring fear into my life, things that will cause lust, things that will encourage me to sin.  Turn my eyes from these things, Lord, and turn them toward your word.  Then I will be revived.
38  Establish Your word to Your servant,  who is devoted to fearing You.
With all that is within me, I am in awe of you, Lord.  The fear and awe I feel at your Majesty, your amazing grace, your abundant mercy and your endless love often overwhelms me.  I desire more and more to be established in your word, that you might be pleased with your humble servant.
39  Turn away my reproach which I dread, for Your judgments are good.
I never want you to disapprove of me, Lord.  I want to walk in your commandments so that when you judge me, it will be a favorable judgment.  Your judgments are always good Lord, so if I need reproof, so let it be.
40  Behold, I long for Your precepts; revive me in Your righteousness.
I long to spend time in your word, Lord.  The bring life into my body, my mind and my soul on a daily basis.  You quicken me, Lord, when  walk in your righteousness.  help me to walk in your
2 thoughts on “Turn My Eyes, Lord”

Leave a Reply

