Psalms

Comfort In Affliction

 Psalm 119:49-56   Zayin

49  Remember the word to Your servant,  upon which You have caused me to hope.
Lord,there are countless promises in your word.  Promises of guidance, healing, prosperity, joy, peace,hope, love and so many, more things.  And these promises were made to all your saints, including me.  Remember those promises when you deal with me Lord, because I place my hope in them.
50  This is my comfort in my affliction, for Your word has given me life.
When thongs going wrong, and it seems my whole world is crashing down on my head, your word gives me hope that it only came to pass.  This affliction to will have an end.  Your word gives me life in the midst of those storms.  And I am comforted by hearing the words of your great book.
51  The proud have me in great derision, yet I do not turn aside from Your law.
Those who would vaunt themselves up (I used to be one of them) ride me because they think  use you as a crutch. They mock me and have my head spinning with their lies.  But I will not turn aside from your truth.  It is my anchor in the midst of a stormy sea.
52  I remembered Your judgments of old, O Lord, and have comforted myself.
When I set my mind on your promises,which are contained in your word, I gain comfort no matter when my situation is.  Even though these promises were written thousands of years ago, they are  still true, and they are for me.  I am so glad when the Holy Spirit, the Comforter,  brings them to my remembrance.
53  Indignation has taken hold of me because of the wicked, who forsake Your law.
I am angry at the constant provocation of the wicked.  They just keep up with their lawless ways with a total disregard for who they are hurting or the damage they are doing.  I wish they would take hold of  the truth contained in your word and stop their wicked behavior.
54  Your statutes have been my songs in the house of my pilgrimage.
I love to sing the songs that are directly our of your word, Oh Lord.  Songs like “I Will Enter His Gates”, “As The Deer”, “He Was Wounded For Our Transgressions” and others uplift my spirit as I journey through this life.
.
55  I remember Your name in the night, O Lord, and I keep Your law.
When I wake up in the darkness of night, you are usually the first thing on my mind.  I remember the promises you have given me and rejoice in the night hours over your words of comfort to my soul.
56  This has become mine, because I kept Your precepts.
All the promises, all the testimonies, all the blessings.  They all have become mine because I keep your laws ad words, Oh God.  Help me to never depart from your word so that I might walk in this beautiful place all the days of my life, singing your words in praise to you.
2 thoughts on “Comfort In Affliction”

Leave a Reply

