You Are My Portion

Psalm 119:57-64

57  You are my portion, O LordI have said that I would keep Your words.
You are all I need.  All that you give me fills me to overflowing.  You are not only a portion, you are all in all, everything I could need or want.  As I keep your words hidden in my heart, I will also perform those words with all that is within me, so that I will walk in the plans that you have for me.
58  I entreated Your favor with my whole heart; be merciful to me according to Your word.
I have asked you for your favor in my life.  With everything I have, I desire to be n your good graces.  I never want to displease you, Lord.  I ask for your mercy as your word says you are merciful..  And you have been merciful to me all the days I have lived so far.  I ask that you continue to be merciful to me as time goes on.
59  I thought about my ways, and turned my feet to Your testimonies.
When I think about all the times I have done things that don’t line up to your word, I am discouraged.  But I am also glad that your mercy has covered my sins, and I vow to turn my ways to your testimonies so that in the future I will follow you more closely.  help me to always be attentive to your words, Lord.
60  I made haste, and did not delay to keep Your commandments.
Once I thought about my ways, and realized they strayed from your commandments, I quickly sought out ways to change so that  could walk in obedience in the future.  I know there is no time to waste in this life, as  everyday you give us opportunities to be a light to someone else.  Help me to walk in your ways from this day forward
61  The cords of the wicked have bound me, but I have not forgotten Your law.
There are those who would want me to join them and go out partying, but I refuse.  They will not drag me down.  There are others who try to get me entangled in gossip or backbiting.  I  will not succumb to their conversations.  I remember your words and will heed to them.
62  At midnight I will rise to give thanks to You, because of Your righteous judgments.
So often, you wake me in  the night and have words that you want me to write down.  Hundreds of the poems and psalms you have given me come that way.  I give you thanks every time you awaken me like that, and remind me to write down the words right away.  It may interrupt my sleep but I don’t dare leave it til morning.  Your righteous words are what I long for.
63  I am a companion of all who fear You, and of those who keep Your precepts.
I find friends everywhere I go because there is a bond between us.  The bond of the Spirit of God that is alive within me, calling out for fellowship.  It is not unusual for me to walk up to complete strangers and find they fear your word, and have accepted Jesus as Savior, and we can have fellowship.  And if they don’t know you, help me to gain their friendship so  can lead them to you.
64  The earth, O Lord, is full of Your mercy; teach me Your statutes.
Everywhere I look I see your mercy.  The rain and the sun are mercy to the plants as they seek good growing conditions.  The trees are mercy on a hot day for shade and cooler conditions.  The snow is mercy to the ground in winter, to let it rest and to provide moisture in the spring.  It is all mercy.  And your word talks of mercy on every page.  help me never to forget your mercy to me.
Leave a Reply

