Psalms

Lord Keep Me Humble

Psalm 119:65-72 Teth

65  You have dealt well with Your servant, O Lord, according to Your word.
You will always dealt with me according to your word.  That is why  I will endeavor to know your word better.  You always do everything for my good, yet sometimes I question that. Help me to see the reasons you sometimes have to chastise me so that I can learn the lessons you are trying to teach me.
66  Teach me good judgment and knowledge, for I believe Your commandments.
Help me to know good judgment, Lord, so that I can avoid the things that are displeasing to you.  Give me knowledge about things that will harm me in this world so that I can avoid those snares that others will set for me.  I believe your words are true, and will harken to the things that you show me.
67  Before I was afflicted I went astray, but now I keep Your word.
I went astray. and affliction came on me.  I turned from my wayward ways, and now I keep your word.  i do not want to have affliction n my life, so will always endeavor to follow your word.  Help me to know that right way to go, so  do not stray from you again.
68  You are good, and do good; teach me Your statutes.
You are good, all the time.  The world wonders how you can be good with so many bad things going on, but  know you have always been good to me, and you always will be.  You will do good things to me and for me as well.  Even though sometimes I don’t see things as good, you will bring good out of them.  I know I can trust you for that, because it is in your word.  Continue to keep your word fresh in my mind.
69  The proud have forged a lie against me, but I will keep Your precepts with my whole heart.
I have been among the proud, Lord.  I have lied and stolen from other saints because of my pride, and hurt them deeply because they trusted me.  I am so thankful you have brought me to a place where I recognize my  pride, and I fight hard to keep it in check.  I desire to do your will Lord.  Pride has no place in that!
70  Their heart is as fat as grease, but I delight in Your law.
The pride run on a slippery slope.  They don;t know when it will stop, or how far it will go.  The lies and deceit just keep going on. I will not live there anymore, but I will take delight in your laws, and walk in humility.
71  It is good for me that I have been afflicted, that I may learn Your statutes.
It s good that you have put my pride in check.  it was not easy for you to get my attention, but once you did, I felt the affliction I was going through, and I took it as your correction.  Thank you, lord, for teaching me how wrong my prideful ways were.
72  The law of Your mouth is better to me than thousands of coins of gold and silver.
I do not need this worlds riches, because I have your word.  It is more to me than anything I can possess.  If I had a choice between walking n your word and an abundance of the world’s riches, I would choose walking closer to you everyday.
3 thoughts on “Lord Keep Me Humble”

  1. A good set of comments to go along with the verses, Pete. they reflect the humility with which we are to approach God, and live our lives before Him. Very good post, my friend!

    Steve

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You aren’t kidding. The evil one tries his hardest to knock us off the path…we have to try to be stronger. Thanks for your study and for reading here, Pete!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

