The Best Is Yet To Come

I interrupt the psalm study on this special day.  One year ago today, the course of my life changed. That is the day that I found out that I had multiple myeloma. It had been suspected from a couple other tests that I had taken earlier but the official diagnosis came on March 10th of 2016. This placed in motion a course of events that I would never have dreamed possible at the beginning of the year. Today I am going to share some lessons that I have learned in the last year.

 

First is something that I have known but has become even more real to me in going through this battle. We serve an awesome God. He has been so merciful to me through this whole ordeal. In the last year, I have undergone a stem cell harvest, two stem cell transplants and 11 months of chemotherapy. I have long lasting neuropathy in my feet and both hands and one shoulder that simply does not want to work.  But most of my health has been good and for that I praise God for his enduring mercy in my life. He has saved me from any of the other afflictions that could have befallen me in going through these procedures. It is amazing that He could keep me during this time and I have learned to praise him more than I ever have before period

h

The second thing is that my wife has proven more amazing then I had ever given her credit for. As my caregiver, she has been beyond incredible. She has been my angel sent from heaven. She takes care of my medications.  She gets up in the middle of the night when I need her. She is always watching out for me and thinking of my best despite how she may feel. She has taken countless time off of work to take me to appointments and she has found people who have come around us to drive us to many of our short-term appointments so that she could work. She has worked extra hours at both of her jobs to make up for the income loss that I am experiencing. God has given her abundant energy and a heart of compassion that I would never have dreamed possible.  She is truly amazing, and I love her more than I ever have in our 39 years together.

 

The third thing is that people come around you when you are in your weakest condition. I am truly amazed at the outpouring of support and love we have received from friends and family during this time. The prayers that have gone up for my wife and I have been simply incredible and we are reminded all the time that there are people all over this country who are praying for us on a daily basis. We have also been supported financially and for that we are eternally grateful. It has enabled us to go through this whole thing with a true peace of mind that everything is taken care of. I will never forget the love and support that they have shown me and only hope that I get an opportunity at some time to pay them back.  And I would be remiss not to mention my daughters in this section.  They have been all around me  loving and concerned with my wellbeing.  I have three wonderful girls watching out for me.

 

The fourth thing is this community of love I have found on WordPress.  You people are remarkable. It was shortly after this diagnosis that I started blogging on a regular basis. And I have received nothing but love and support from all of you as I have gone through this time. Your prayers, your comments on my posts, all of you following my two blogs and all of you who like my stuff on a daily basis are more appreciated than you can ever imagine. This is an incredible community and one that I plan to stay plugged into even when I go back to work. Thank you for all of your love during this time.

 

The fifth thing is the beauty of having an Aflac cancer policy. I sold these policies for almost two years before I came down with cancer and of course I bought one for myself. The speed at which they process claims is absolutely incredible and this cancer policy has also attributed to the peace of mind that we have felt through this process. This $14 a week policy on me and my wife has paid us over $40,000 through the course of this cancer so far and it will continue to pay us as long as I go through chemotherapy, which is for another year-and-a-half. It is incredible that they can do these things and we are so blessed to have them by our side. If you live in Minnesota or Iowa I would be happy to talk to you about an Aflac cancer policy.

 

And finally, I have learned that that this is going to be a much longer ordeal than even I thought it would be. I haven’t had it for a year now and I have another two years to go before I will be able to go back to full-time work for Aflac. That is because my immune system will be compromised for that long and I will not be able to sit across the table from my clients until then. So, I’ll continue to ask for your prayers and your strength as we fight the good fight. I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that the Lord will heal me completely in the end, I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that He will give me a testimony that will save lives and bring healing to many. I prayed to resume my evangelistic ministry when this is over, as well as going back to being an Aflac representative. But I’ll have a bolder testimony than I have ever had before in both instances, and that will bring me much success.  The best is yet to come in my life

 

It has been quite a year and I have learned a lot. I’m glad that you have been on this journey with me. May God continue to bless you and yours

2 thoughts on “The Best Is Yet To Come

Leave a Reply

