Sweeter Than Honey

Psalm 119:97-104  Mem

97  Oh, how I love Your law!  It is my meditation all the day.
What a wonderful place to dwell!  In the pages of your book.  There are wonderful stories there, like Josephs story, or of the amazing plagues n Egypt, or David and Goliath.  There are love stories, like Ruth and  Boaz, or Jacob and Rachel.  There are stores of great deliverance, like Daniel in the lion’s den, or Paul and Silas in the prison.  I love your word, because it has all I need.
98  You, through Your commandments, make me wiser than my enemies;
For they are ever with me.
Reading your word, Lord, gives me wisdom that my enemies don’t have.  I see how Jesus confounded the scribes and pharisees, how Paul preached to the masses, how the prophets never held back from declaring the words you gave them.  You gave them the words, and they just spoke with wisdom.  As  read your word, I see how I can overcome  anything that may come my way through the wisdom you place within me.
99  I have more understanding than all my teachers, for Your testimonies are my meditation.
Spending time considering your word makes me have great understanding for the things of life.  I can reason with anyone if spend the time in your word, Lord, because in it are the issues of life.  Those who taught me have done well to turn me to your word, because That is where I will grow in your spirit.
.
100  I understand more than the ancients, because I keep Your precepts.
I can learn more from you than my ancestors can teach me because I keep your word.   I stay in the right path, knowing that following your word will teach me wisdom and understanding that those who do not revere your word don’t have.  This gives me an understanding fr the things of life that is above what they know.
101  I have restrained my feet from every evil way, that I may keep Your word.
I stay in your word because it guides me away from evil.  It keeps me on the straight and narrow path.  With all me heart, I desire to keep my life from eval, and the best way to do that is to stay in your word.    As long as I stay n your word, meditating on your precepts, my feet will be walking away from evil.
102  I have not departed from Your judgments, for You Yourself have taught me.
What I love most about reading your word is that you teach me by your spirit when I take n the words of your law.  As I open my heart to learn, you fill me with wisdom and knowledge that is far beyond what this world can teach me.  It is such a joy to sit at the Master’s feet and learn of His ways, and that is what  do with you, Lord
103  How sweet are Your words to my taste,  sweeter than honey to my mouth!
Your words are more to be desired than gold!  They are sweeter than an honeycomb to my soul.  Even when I am corrected by your word, it s a sweet thing to me, because  can learn more about you and your ways.  It is sweet to spend time in your words, and to learn of your ways, Lord.
104  Through Your precepts I get understanding; Therefore I hate every false way.
When I spend time n your word, I am more and more in tune with what is wrong.  And that causes me to avoid evil ways.  It causes me t have a hunger to do that which is right n your eyes.  It causes me to desire your ways, and to avoid the evil trappings of this world.  More and more will I hate the evil way, and cling to your ways.  Oh, Lord, keep me n your word!
3 thoughts on “Sweeter Than Honey

  1. Such deep and delightful insights into the Psalms and the word of God in general! Your comments really add depth and understanding to the passages you quote. Another good post!

    Steve

    Liked by 1 person

      1. He writes them for all of us to read, digest, and share. But I know the feeling of being tired after a full day on blogging!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

