Lighting the Path

Psalm 119:105-112  Nun

105  Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.
There are times when I am not sure which way to go.  I am so glad I have your word to light my path, showing me the way you would have me go.  I want to be on the straight and narrow path that leads to heaven, not the wide path that leads to destruction.  Help me to always keep the light of your word as my focus and mu guide.
106  I have sworn and confirmed that I will keep Your righteous judgments.
There is no doubt or reservation in my mind – I will keep your commandments with all my heart.  I will seek out an accountability partner to keep me walking the way I should walk.  This will be the confirmation of my faith.   need someone to ask the tough questions when I may be tempted to stray.  Lead me to that person, Oh Lord, who will be a true friend.
107  I am afflicted very much; Revive me, O Lord, according to Your word.
In times of affliction,  I can depend on you to lift me  up, dust me off and set me on the path once  again.  You never fail me, and you are always right on time.  You will do to me according to your word every time, and that means you will do things for my good all the time.  So when affliction comes, I will know it is for my good and I will trust in you.
108  Accept, I pray, the freewill offerings of my mouth, O Lord, and teach me Your judgments.
I always pray that you will accept the praise I offer you.  I love to praise your name, lifting up the songs you have given to me and offering a sweet smelling savor before your throne.  Through the words you have asked me to pen, have learned a lot about your character, mercy and grace.  You are more awesome to me than ever before.  How I long that you continue to teach me your righteous judgment.
109  My life is continually in my hand, yet I do not forget Your law.
Daily I have the ability to make good decisions or bad decisions.  You give me the freedom to do as I please, even if it means I turn away from you.  But my desire is to never turn away, but always follow your law.  I want to please you, Lord, in all I say and do.
110  The wicked have laid a snare for me, yet I have not strayed from Your precepts.
There are enemies out there who would do anything to destroy my testimony.  They lay traps to lure me into walking in the world instead of with you.  Guide me on your path, Lord.  Help me to keep the lamp directly in front of me, and walk  in the light you shed on my life.
111  Your testimonies I have taken as a heritage forever, for they are the rejoicing of my heart.
I take great delight in your word Lord.   It makes my heart rejoice when I spend time in your word, studying your mercy and grace.  I rejoice that you have chosen me, and that I am allowed to walk with you every day.  You gave your life so that I can have life – what a privilege it is to have you as my Savior and Friend.
112  I have inclined my heart to perform Your statutes forever, to the very end.
My heart desires to do your will, Oh Lord, every day of my life.  I have  no regrets in serving you, and  never want to turn back from your ways.  I lay down my heart, and my life, before your throne.  Do with me as you please.
9 thoughts on “Lighting the Path

      1. I got the book yesterday, and you’re right! Hard to put down – I’m enjoying the direction it is going ( on pad 73 now) My favorite line so far? Randall says “Let the Bible interpret itself”. All too often, all we hear or read are other people’s interpretations or opinions. Very rarely do we ask God to reveal the scripture to us directly.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes, Randall is a great inspiration to us all. He is also telling us not to let man add to or take away from what God has written. This has lead to so much confusion and hence, the number of different churches we have today, all with a slightly different message…

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Agreed. I have been saying for years the reason why the other side seems to be winning so many battles on the moral law is because they are united in their cause and the church is divided by man’s doctrine. Very sad!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

