My Hiding Place

Psalm 119:113-120   Samek

113  I hate the double-minded, but I love Your law
This world has abandoned the truth.  There are so many people around me who change their minds on a whim, going with whatever is politically correct at the moment.  They have no standards and no moral ground.  Wishy-washy is a good word for them.  It drives me crazy, Lord.  But I can rest in your word,  It is constant and abiding, and will never change or fail.  That’s why I love your law.
114  You are my hiding place and my shield;  I hope in Your word.
When all the world around me is wondering what the outcome will be, I can rest in you Lord.  You are a shelter from the storms of life, and a shield to protect me against my enemy and those that would seek my harm.  Your word gives me the refuge that I need in times of trouble, and it is dependable in every situation.
115  Depart from me, you evildoers,  for I will keep the commandments of my God!
No matter who comes against me, or what they say, your word will be my guiding force.  Many think that is old fashioned or silly, given the fact that it was written so long ago.  But your word is eternal and those that do evil just don’t understand the power of your word.  It gives me rest, and I will keep it until my dying days..
116  Uphold me according to Your word, that I may live; and do not let me be ashamed of my hope.
Your hand will uphold me, and your loving arms will keep me safe.  These are promises from your word, and I can depend on them.  When I place my hope in you, I know you will never fail me.  Although there may be times, in the midst of difficult trials, that I may wonder where you are,  I know and have hope that you are allowing those things for my good, and I will come out the other side a better man.  That is my hope and prayer.
117  Hold me up, and I shall be safe, and I shall observe Your statutes continually.
When you hold me up, I know I am safe.  Safe in  any storm, in any trial, in any trouble, in the midst of any enemy.  There is nothing that can bring me harm when I am in your loving care   And I am in that care when I observe your laws and walk in your ways.  Help me to always see the truth of your word and walk in it, Lord.
118  You reject all those who stray from Your statutes, for their deceit is falsehood.
Anyone who rejects your word is dealing with lies.  They bring false witness into our lives.  There are many who change your word to suit their own lifestyle or desires, and they are just as guilty of deceit as those who discount your word altogether.  Help me not to stray from your word, and to measure every one I hear speaking of you against what your word says.  Give me wisdom to not fall into deceitful ways.
119  You put away all the wicked of the earth like dross; therefore I love Your testimonies.
You put the wicked aside.  It is not my job.  My job, my ministry, my witness is to love them and try to show them the truth of your ways by the love I have for them.  I will never win them if I do not show love.  Even the wicked are supposed to be my mission field.  If they will not hear and heed to your word, it is your place to put them aside, not mine.
120  My flesh trembles for fear of You, and I am afraid of Your judgments.
In my flesh, I am nothing.  I am wicked and unrighteous.  I will disobey your laws every time.  But my spirit cries out from within me to serve you and praise you.  My spirit cries out to follow your ways in all I do.  My flesh trembles at your judgment, but my spirit rejoices in your ways.  Let me flesh yield to my spirit daily, so that I might walk with you freely and unafraid.
3 thoughts on “My Hiding Place

  1. Lord God, today I kill my fleshly sin and its desires. I have died with Christ and he livesin me. Determined to live by the Spirit, sensitive to and follow his leading because he enables me to overcome. Jesus be glorified in me! Amen

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Again, Pete, such good comments on the verses from the word of God! Yes the world does not know nor fear God, and we must not judge but testify as to the goodness of the Lord. Jesus is the Son of God and Savior of mankind. We need the world to hear this message. It is up to them as to whether or not they will believe. God’s plan for all of us is at work!

    Steve

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

