Thirsting For You

Psalm 119:129-136  Pe

129  Your testimonies are wonderful;  Therefore my soul keeps them.
I cannot escape how wonderful you are to me Lord.  I can depend on your word to come through every time.  The testimonies contained in your word are written for me.  testimonies of miracles, of deliverance, of healing, of provision, of power, of rest, of fellowship.    They are all written to give me comfort and hope.  I will forever keep your word!
130  The entrance of Your words gives light; It gives understanding to the simple.
Once I open myself to your word, a light is shed on my life.  A light that will bring me to better things and a better life all around.  I start to understand things I never could understand before.  That light shines all the way down to my heart, and frees it from the darkness that overwhelms me at times.  Even in my simple mind, I start to understand your ways.
131  I opened my mouth and panted, for I longed for Your commandments.
I am thirsty for your word.  Like a deer that pants for the water, so my soul longs after you, Lord.  I need your word. it is the water of life to me.  It keeps me alive from one day to the next.  It keeps me full of life, the same type of life that water gives my body.
132  Look upon me and be merciful to me, as Your custom is toward those who love Your name.
You can see me.  I am right here before you.  You know I love you Lord, and that I love to praise your sweet name.  I can depend on you hearing my prayers when I cry to you, and I know that you will look on me with mercy.  It is your way, Oh Lord.  Your eyes are always on me, and you are full of mercy toward those who love your name as I do.
133  Direct my steps by Your word, and let no iniquity have dominion over me.
As I look to your word, my every step is directed toward the plans you have for me, plans for my good, planes to prosper me, planes to bring me to success.  As I stay in your word, iniquity cannot dominate me, because your word will cast put the enemy.  It will drive out negative thoughts and thoughts of evil.  It will keep me centered on you, and that s the place I always want to be.
134  Redeem me from the oppression of man, that I may keep Your precepts.
You sent your Son, your only Son, to redeem me from the oppressor.  He took my sin to the cross, nailed it there, and left it there when He was taken down from that cross.  I no longer have that oppression upon me.  Now, because of the price He pad, and because I have asked Him into my heart, I am able to keep your laws and precepts.  He makes me able!
135  Make Your face shine upon Your servant, and teach me Your statutes.
When your face shines on me, I know you are looking at me.  When you look at me, I know you are aware of what is going on in my life.  When you are aware of what is going on in my life, I know you will help me through any situation I may be in.   These are the times that peace runs over my soul.  These are the times I can learn of your ways, because I am focused on you,and you are focused on me.
136  Rivers of water run down from my eyes,  because men do not keep Your law.
It makes me sad to see men not keeping your word.  There s so much peace and joy in doing what you ask of me.  And there is a freedom that this world just does not understand.  There are times that  weep because I know there are so many who are lost, ho do not know your ways and the joy that comes from keeping them.  Help me be a witness to those who do not know you, or your ways Lord.
6 thoughts on “Thirsting For You

    1. Thanks Steve. Going through the psalms over the last 4 months has been quite an experience. They capture so much raw emotion and so many highs and lows. It is exciting for me each day as I try to relate to the verses. Appreciate your feedback and encouragement

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You know, King David is involved in many of the Psalms. Whenever the evil one begins to “mess” with me making me think I’m not worthy of God’s grace, I think of David and the Psalms. How many times did he come before the Lord asking in prayer for forgiveness! Yet, he was always sincerely sorry for his sins and now rests in heaven. God looks at the heart and that’s one of my main takeaways from the book of Psalm…You are welcome for the feedback and encouragement, Pete!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I wasn’t aware of your other website. I liked “Your Children” but wasn’t able to leave a comment. I believe we are all guilty of formulating opinions from too little information, which means they are usually wrong! A good point Pete!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

