Psalms

Bring Me Through The Fire

Psalm 119:137-144  Tsadde

137  Righteous are You, O Lord,  and upright are Your judgments.
I can depend on the fact that you will always do what is right.  As I read your word I see so many times that I would have handled things differently than you did, but the outcome from your actions always turned out right.  From that testimony,  I know that things will always turn out right for me.  You have a plan, and everything that comes my way, whether I see it as good or not, is part of that plan.  I know it is right for me!
138  Your testimonies, which You have commanded,  are righteous and very faithful.
This same testimonies can be played out in my life.  You command your testimonies to come into my life when the time is right.  And the outcome is faithful.  I can know a good outcome will be soon coming because a good outcome was realized before.  Solomon said there was nothing new under the sun.  It’s such a blessing to me that you are so faithful!
139  My zeal has consumed me,  because my enemies have forgotten Your words.
My love for you, my passion to praise you, my desire to be full of your Spirit – they all overwhelm me.  So often I just start to weep because I am thinking about the mercy and grace you have show to me, and  want more than ever to preach your word and sing your praises to the masses.  When you bring me to full health once again, I will take your word to my  enemies, who have left you behind.
140  Your word is very pure;  therefore Your servant loves it.
Your word is pure – purer than fine gold.  Gold is heated extra hot in the refiners fire so that all the impurities  will rise to the top and be skimmed off.  This leaves a very pure gold.  Your word is the refiners fire of my  life, burning out the impure things and thoughts so that I can become pure.  Let the fire burn, Lord.
141  I am small and despised,  yet I do not forget Your precepts.
I am not much of a  man.  I am just a regular guy – nothing special.  Yet, for some reason that amazes me, you have chosen me to share your poems and songs.  You have chosen me to write down these reflections on your psalms.  I am so humbled by these things you have asked me to do.  You have given me a love for your word,and I will never forget your precepts.
142  Your righteousness is an everlasting righteousness,  and Your law is truth.
No matter how long  live, no matter where I rest my head, no matter what my life s going through, your righteousness remains. It is everlasting, just as your mercy and your grace are.  The truth of your law will remain from generation to generation, and I will cling to it for as long as you give me breath.  I pray more will come to realize there is only one  thing that is constant, and that is your word.
143  Trouble and anguish have overtaken me,  yet Your commandments are my delights.
There are times that i have troubles.  There are times that trials overwhelm me, and I wonder if you are still with me.  But then  remember your word.  I remember the testimony of saints of old.  And I remember the testimony you have given me.  Then I know that everything will be all right.  Then I know that you will see me through once again.  Then I know and delight in your word.
144  The righteousness of Your testimonies is everlasting;  give me understanding, and I shall live.
Help me to understand more fully the stores and testimonies I read in your word.  As I gain that understanding, I can better apply the principles to my life and perhaps avoid some of the trials I would otherwise go through.  All of these testimonies are forever, and they all have lessons that I can learn to live a more fruitful life.
Leave a Reply

