Psalms

Early I Cry Out To You

Psalm 119:145-152  Qoph

145  I cry out with my whole heart; Hear me, O LordI will keep Your statutes.
Everything within me cries out to you, Lord! I want more than anything else to keep your statutes, yet my flesh gets in the way over and over again.  It is so hard to put down the  desires of the flesh.  Perhaps  need to fast more often and  deny my body more.  Oh, Lord, hear my cries and help me to overcome my flesh so that I can follow you more closely.
146  I cry out to You; Save me, and I will keep Your testimonies.
Yes, Lord.  Once again, I cry out to you to save me.  Save me from my worldly desires, from my need for comforts of this  world, from my errant thoughts, from those that would lead me astray.  Save me from myself so that I can live in the testimony that you have given me.  It’s a testimony of deliverance, healing, restoration, redemption, mercy and grace.  Help me to walk in those things that  may reach others.
147  I rise before the dawning of the morning, and cry for help; I hope in Your word.
You know me Lord.  I am an early bird.  I am up often in the night or the wee hours of the morning, many times writing down the words that you give to me.  But also, this is a time of prayer. A time of intercession.  I cry out for you to help those people who have asked me to pray for them.    cry out for our nation to be healed.  There s hope in your word for anything I pray for – help me to always speak that hope to those who need encouragement.
148  My eyes are awake through the night watches, that I may meditate on Your word.
When you speak to me in the night, giving me a poem or a song, I can not go back to sleep until I have written it all down.  I have tried, and I just can’t do it.  I know that if I don;t write it down, it will be gone from my mind in the morning.  I meditate on hearing you, and what you would say at that time, and write the words as you give them to me.  I love it when you give me things in the middle of the night.  Help me to always be willing to write them down.
149  Hear my voice according to Your lovingkindness; O Lord, revive me according to Your justice.
When I cry out to you, please hear me and know that  I am appealing to your loving heart and your kindness shown to me.  I hope I never become presumptuous, thinking that you owe me an answer.  Help me to always be n awe when you do answer my prayers, not because I am surprised that you answered them, but because you heard my prayer, as great and powerful as you are, and you took the time to answer it.  That thought alone revives my heart and my faith.
150  They draw near who follow after wickedness; they are far from Your law.
It is easy to see the ones who do not follow your words.  They make themselves known by their words and their actions.  They don’t speak kindness and they do hurtful things to others.  They follow after wicked things, and don’t seek out the good in others.  They are far from the example you would like them to be.  Help me to be a witness to them, especially in the way I react to them.
151  You are near, O Lord, and all Your commandments are truth.
You are near to me Lord.  I know this because you promised you would be.  And as I dry near to you, your draw closer to me.  What a blessing this is.  I can walk in that truth forever, and always know that when I have a need, you are close at hand.

152  Concerning Your testimonies, I have known of old that You have founded them forever.
I love to reads you word, and see all the stories that are i there.  It is an amazing story book, full of daring, love, miracles and changed lives.  Those testimonies speak to me in so many ways.  I can claim the same results for my life and my family.  You are the same yesterday, today and forever, so your word, and the things you have done  for others, you can also to for me.  What a huge comfort that is in times of despair.  Thank you for your faithfulness.
5 thoughts on “Early I Cry Out To You”

  1. Pete, this is both heart wrenching and tender. It reminds of Nehemiah’s prayer for Israel. Thank you for this unselfish prayer you have served up this morning. May He hear you for all of us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

