Psalms

From The Inside Out

Psalm 119:161-168  Shin

161  Princes persecute me without a cause, but my heart stands in awe of Your word.
The world around me makes fun of me and chastises me because I love you so much, Lord.  My life revolves around you!  My words reflects the love II have for you.  And when they ask of the joy and hope that I have, I just tell them how awesome you are.  How awesome your promises are!  How awesome your testimonies are!  How awesome your word is!  And they just don’t get it.  They say “Oh That’s nice”.  No, it’s more than nice.  It’s AWESOME!
162  I rejoice at Your word  as one who finds great treasure.
Treasure is heard to come by.  I can look for the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.  Or I can imagine winnng the Publishers Clearing House grand prize.  I love watching movies where they find hidden treasure, like National Secret or Fool’s Gold.  Wouldn’t it be nice to find something like that?  But none of that compares to the greatness of your word, and the effect it has on my life.  All the treasure in the world could not bring me more joy.
163  I hate and abhor lying, but I love Your law.
I have lived in lies many times in my life.  I was a hypocrite and a Pharisee, living a lie and pretending to be holy and righteous.  And deep inside,  I hated myself for it.  I overcompensated for it by doing and being my best at all times, not letting my guard down for anybody.  And I almost lost my family, my wife and all that I knew.  I have decided I would much rather live by your law, and fall in love with it.  Life is so much better now.
164  Seven times a day I praise You, because of Your righteous judgments.
I really can’t even count the times I praise you each day, but I will put seven down as the Psalmist did.  You have done righteously by me all the time, and  praise you for that.  I praise you for hearing my early morning prayers, for waking me in the morning, for my wonderful wife, for the food in my house, for shelter, for the strength I am gaining, for friends who are helping us…the list goes on and on.  Your praise is continually on my lips.
165 Great peace have those who love Your law, and nothing causes them to stumble.
I  have found that the more I stay in your word, the more peace I have.  And I love to be at peace.  I love the calm assurance I get when I know your loving arms are around me.   love the peace that  feel when you are near, and I can sense your presence.  I know you will uphold me and help me not to fall.  The more time I spend n your word, the more peaceful my life is.  Keep me close to your, Lord.
166  Lord, I hope for Your salvation, and I do Your commandments.
You tell me to work out my salvation with fear and trembling, Lord.  When I accepted your son into my heat, He took up residence there for good.  Now I have to work Him out from my heart.  His compassion is there, but I still have to help it show.  His mercy is there, but my mind gets in the way,  His grace is there, but my stubbornness sometime blocks it.  His love is there, but my eyes and mind deceive me.  Your salvation is slowly making it’s way to the surface as  learn to do your  commandments more and more.
167  My soul keeps Your testimonies, and I love them exceedingly.
Deep within me, my soul urges me to keep your commandments and to live in the testimonies I have read in your word.  They are ever before me, Lord.  Deep within me, I walk in your word every day.  But sometimes it can  not be seen on the surface.  Sometimes it is behind a mask of emotion and my own fleshly thoughts.  Help me to set your spirit free, and live by your commands inside and out.
168  I keep Your precepts and Your testimonies, for all my ways are before You.
You know everything about me Lord.  You now where I struggle and where I do good.  You know where I fall short and where I am a good witness.  You know what things will turn me aside and what will turn me closer to you.  Help me to know me as well as you do, Lord.  teach me about me so that  may more effectively follow you.
3 thoughts on “From The Inside Out”

Leave a Reply

