The Rooster Crows

Mark 14:70 And he denied it again. And a little after, they that stood by said again to Peter, Surely thou art one of them: for thou art a Galilaean, and thy speech agreeth thereto.  71 But he began to curse and to swear, saying, I know not this man of whom ye speak.  72 And the second time the cock crew. And Peter called to mind the word that Jesus said unto him, Before the cock crow twice, thou shalt deny me thrice. And when he thought thereon, he wept.

This is one of the more familiar stories during the trials.  Peter was told by Jesus  that he would deny he knew Jesus three times before the rooster crowed in the morning,  of course Peter said there was no way that would happen.  But it did.  Under intense pressure, he folded.  Would I have done better?  I’m really not sure.  Of, it’s easy for me to say I would have!  But when I really think about it, I may have done what my namesake did – hide.

Peter was not usually afraid of anything, bit He was afraid of the high council and what they could do to him.  He was lingering outside the palace hoping they would let Jesus go, and three times people said they had seen him with Jesus, and three times he denied it  If I had been him that day, I may have done the same thing..  It was a very scary situation, and I’m sure Peter was worried for his own life.  Once the rooster crowed, Peter realized what had just happened, and he went to a solitary place and wept.

There will come a day when we have to stand in the face of death and denounce Christ or die.  I believe I am ready for that day.  I pray I don’t have to face it though.  There are missionaries out there who are being killed because of their confession of faith, and they do not deny Him.  I pray God will give me the strength and the courage to stand when  I need to stand!

Leave a Reply

