God chose you!

Psalm 120

In my distress I cried unto the Lord, and he heard me.

I am so glad I know He will hear me wherever I am.  He has told me so over and over again in His word:

“The Lord will hear when I call upon Him.” — PS. 4.3.

“I have called upon Thee, for Thou wilt hear me, O God!” — PS. 17.6.

‘Call to Me, and I will answer you, and show you great and mighty things, which you do not know.’  Jer 33:3

“My God will hear me”  Micah 7:7

So I should expect, that when I am in my deepest time of hurting, in the midst of my despair and distress, that God will hear my cry, and bring relief to my weary heart.  He is the same yesterday and today and forever (Heb 13:8)

Deliver my soul, O Lord, from lying lips, and from a deceitful tongue.

And when He hears my cry, He will answer my request, and relieve me from that situation in His time, not mine; Jer 33:3 and Psalm 17:6 above.

In the day of my trouble I shall call upon You, For You will answer”  Psalm 86:7

“Then you will call, and the LORD will answer; You will cry, and He will say, ‘Here I am ‘” Is 58:9
He WILL answer.  It may not be the answer we expect and it may not come at the time we were expecting.  But it will always be for your good, and will be His best.  You can depend on that.

What shall be given unto thee? or what shall be done unto thee, thou false tongue?

Sharp arrows of the mighty, with coals of juniper.

I can associate with the lying lips and deceitful tongue he is referencing in these verses. I lived in them.  I hurt my wife deeply through the years by putting her down in subtle ways, and not letting her rise to her potential.  All during that time, I was sinking deeper into lustful sin, stoked by pride at all levels.  I had to keep her down to make myself feel better, to make her lose confidence to confront me.  I was a villain with my tongue at the same time I was giving blessing to people.  A two faced Pharisee.  I am so glad those days are behind me now.  God has been merciful to me indeed.

Woe is me, that I sojourn in Mesech, that I dwell in the tents of Kedar!

My soul hath long dwelt with him that hateth peace.

I am for peace: but when I speak, they are for war.

I am for peace, as the psalmist is.  I am for peace in this country and in this world.  But more than anything, I am for peace in the troubled souls of so many in society today.  There are so many wallowing in fear and doubt and despair, not knowing where to turn (see verses 1 and 2).  They go without the Lord, looking to other things to fill their minds – drugs, alcohol, sex, Snapchat, video games, all kinds of addictive behavior.  They do not know that God has known them since before their very parents have known (them Jer 1:5), that He has a purpose and a plan for their lives if they will but turn to Him.  If they want peace, all they have to do is come to God, and peace will reign through all their troubled times.

I came across this video by T D Jakes the other day, and I am determined to listen to it daily for a while, as I need this truth alive in my spirit.  I hope you find it as interesting and inspiring as I do – it’s only 10 minutes long.

Be blessed my friends – He is with you.

2 thoughts on “God chose you!

Leave a Reply

