Be in His House!

Psalm 122

I was glad when they said unto me, Let us go into the house of the Lord.

Glad is not the word for it!  Exuberant would better describe how I feel now when  able to go to the house of the Lord.  Undergoing cancer treatment has been difficult in part because I had to avoid crowds, and church was one of those places that suffered for it.  I miss it so much, and now I can start to attend, cautiously.

Now I could get great preaching on YouTube and the radio and TV anytime I wanted to.  And I could worship with the best singers and bands in the country, listening to whatever songs I wanted to.  And I listened to a lot of wonderful  music and sermons. But there is nothing, absolutely nothing, that can replace being in a place of corporate worship, where others are singing, on key and off.  Where the musicians are live and helping the tune.

Our congregation is small, and the musicians are not professional, and our pastor leading songs tends to stray off key occasionally, but that makes it even more appealing to me.  They worship from the heart, not as just a group singing songs, but lifting up Jesus and honoring Him with all they have.  That’s my kind of worship.

I will be attending my church this Sunday and singing one of the songs I wrote, maybe also leading a worship chorus.  I’ll be amazed if I don’t shed a tear of joy just because I am able to be there and enter in with all the folks.  Wonderful time!

Besides the awsomeness of it all, we are told it is of the utmost importance that we do come together in Hebrews 10:25, especially as we see the day approaching.  We come together not just to worship but to exhort one another and edify one another.  There are people who need you in your congregation.  Make sure you are there for them!

Our feet shall stand within thy gates, O Jerusalem.

Jerusalem is builded as a city that is compact together:

Whither the tribes go up, the tribes of the Lord, unto the testimony of Israel, to give thanks unto the name of the Lord.

For there are set thrones of judgment, the thrones of the house of David.

Jerusalem today is a divided city, and the main city for three of the worlds main religions: Jews, Christians and Muslims.  It is the crossroads of the world, and one day will be welcoming Jesus back.  Until then, it is a city filled with turmoil and beauty.  I have never been there, but would love to go sometime. Ti walk the streets where Jesus walked, to see the places mentioned in the Bible.  I hear it is an overwhelming feeling to be there.

Pray for the peace of Jerusalem: they shall prosper that love thee.

Peace be within thy walls, and prosperity within thy palaces.

For my brethren and companions’ sakes, I will now say, Peace be within thee.

Because of the house of the Lord our God I will seek thy good.

The blessing and covenant given to Abraham is still valid today:

Gen 12:3  And I will bless them that bless thee, and curse him that curseth thee: and in thee shall all families of the earth be blessed.

I am so proud that America has always stood behind Israel.  Very few other countries in the world are as close to Israel as we are.  It is our Christian heritage which brings us that alliance.  I am concerned that if we turn our back on that heritage, we will also turn our back on Israel, and lose the blessing that is derived from that bond.  We must never allow this country to turn away from Israel!

And we must pray for the peace of Jerusalem and Israel.  The enemy is constantly at war with Israel, fighting to try and take her land and her people.  It amazes me that such a small country wields such great power on this earth.  But then I consider God, and it s not surprising at all.  These are His chosen people, chosen from the beginning of time to be His special ones.  Praying for their peace is a prayer for peace in the entire world.  Let us never cease to offer up prayers for this blessed nation.

 

9 thoughts on “Be in His House!

      1. Oh, that brought back nostalgia as well, I’m sure! 🙂
        Thank you for the link! 😀 ♥ My Internet at home isn’t able to load videos but I’ll give it a listen the next time I hit a WiFi hot-spot. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Very well. Thanks for asking. We ended up doing 2 of my songs. The one you have the link to, and another called ” I want to thank you Lord”, which is also on my YouTube channel.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

