Out Of The Snare

Psalm 124

If it had not been the Lord who was on our side, now may Israel say;

If it had not been the Lord who was on our side, when men rose up against us:

I cannot imagine how people go through cancer without the Lord.  Where do they get their hope from. because He is my hope?  Where do they get encouragement from, because He is my encourager?  Where do they draw their strength from, because He is my strength?  Who lifts them when they are down, because He lifts me up?  Who holds them when all the family and friends are not there, because He has me in the palm of His hand?

It may not be men that have risen up against me, but the same thing still applies. I would be lost without Him (John 15:5).  I know He is on my side (Rom 8:31).  I know he will work all things for my good (Rom 8:28).  I know He has a plan for me, a plan to prosper me and give me a future (Jer 29:11)  I know He is  always there when I call to Him, and He will show me great and mighty things (Jer 33:3).  I know I will overcome by the blood of the Lamb and the word of my testimony (Rev 12:11).   I know that no weapon formed against me will prosper (IS 54:17).  Yes, if it had not been that the Lord was on my side, I am not sure I would be here writing this post today.  I give Him all the glory and praise for what He is doing in my life!

Then they had swallowed us up quick, when their wrath was kindled against us:

Then the waters had overwhelmed us, the stream had gone over our soul:

Then the proud waters had gone over our soul.

The enemy would overwhelm me if I did not have this faith.   He would swallow me alive and spit me out.  I would be down and out, not encouraged, weak and feeble, wishing it would all end, no hope for complete healing.  The cancer that had invaded my body would be overwhelming to me, for I would have no hope.  I would be in despair, trying to find a way out.  I would not have the Lord for guidance, for strength, for hope, for faith, for comfort.  I would not believe the prayers of others would help any.

I would rely on myself, my pride, my wisdom, my knowledge, my strength.  And pride is the enemy of God.  i would in essence fight against the very one who held my healing in His hand.  How could I win and remain hopeful in such a condition?  I am so glad that is not the case!

Blessed be the Lord, who hath not given us as a prey to their teeth.

Our soul is escaped as a bird out of the snare of the fowlers: the snare is broken, and we are escaped.

Our help is in the name of the Lord, who made heaven and earth.

He will not let the enemy ensnare me in Thew traps he lays for me.  He will come to my aid when I call to Him, and set me free, releasing my mind from the thoughts that the enemy would have me think, and h=guiding my steps away from the snares  And even if I did not listen to Him, and did walk into the trap of the enemy, he would deliver me out of it and I would fly away freer.  My help is in Him, as is well said in this old, wonderful chorus.

Leave a Reply

