Surrounded by Mountains

Psalm 125

They that trust in the Lord shall be as mount Zion, which cannot be removed, but abideth for ever.

What a promise!  Trusting in the Lord makes me an immovable mountain that will abide forever.  The comparison is not to just any mountain though – it is to Mount Zion, then highest point in the city, a broad, firm foundation for our faith.

When my trust is in God,  I am immovable and confident that He will see me through anything that may come my way.  I never have to fret or fear the trappings that the enemy may throw my way because I trust in the Lord.  It is an unshakable faith that His promises will always be alive in my life, and will abide forever to protect me and carry me through

When my trust is in God, my testimony will always be victory, because I know the mercy and grace of the Lord are walking with me every step of the way.  It may seem to others who observe from afar that I am going through a hard time, but in realty  am walking in the clouds with my Lord.  My trust in Him keeps me above the troubles and trials that would plague those who don’t know this trust.  All things work together for good!

As the mountains are round about Jerusalem, so the Lord is round about his people from henceforth even for ever.

My brother  recently returned from a trip to Portugal, and he was telling me how many of the villages he visited were built on sides of mountains to have a vantage point out to the open fields.  The area often had clashes between people groups, so the villages were built to have that kind of view in case the enemy was coming.  The walls had ramparts all the way around for protection.

Jerusalem is the opposite.  The mountains surrounding Jerusalem have the city below them.  I have not been to the city, but in reading descriptions, I see that the mountains overlook the city.  When I think about that, and then read the verse, I get excited!

What that tells me is that God surrounds me, thus providing protection, and watches over me, thus providing safety.  Now if mountains are protecting me, and God is watching over me, what why should I ever be afraid that the enemy might sneak in?  He can’t sneak in!  First, he would have to scale the mountains, and ass I look up and see the mountains, I would see him coming.  Then the watchful eye of the Lord would not let him do anything that could harm me more than allowed by God.  What a wonderful promise this is!

For the rod of the wicked shall not rest upon the lot of the righteous; lest the righteous put forth their hands unto iniquity.

I don’t have to worry about the burden of the wicked resting on me.  It cannot!  Now I do have the ability and the choice to stay with God or walk away, but the rod of the wicked will not rest upon me – it will not just show up and overtake my faith.  If I turn from my faith, I am open to whatever wickedness I can imagine.  But if I stay in my faith, wickedness cannot succeed in my life – I am an overcomer through the blood of the Lamb and the word of my testimony (Rev 12:11).

Do good, O Lord, unto those that be good, and to them that are upright in their hearts.

As for such as turn aside unto their crooked ways, the Lord shall lead them forth with the workers of iniquity: but peace shall be upon Israel.

God will always do good to those that be good, and His peace will be alive in my life.  If I keep an upright heart, I walk in the midst of His blessing.  If I decide to turn away, God will let me go.  But His mercy and grace will still seek after me. He will always love me.  He will never give up on me.  This verse tells me that if I turn away,  the Lord will lead me forth.  Isn’t that interesting.  Here I think I am walking away from God, and God says He is leading me.  I am never out of His hand.  I cannot escape Him.

Now if I keep going down that oath of iniquity, I can lose heaven.  Then I will feel the eternal separation from God.  Until that day, He is leading me, still watching over me, still caring and loving.  That is how much He wants me to be His child!

One thought on “Surrounded by Mountains

Leave a Reply

