Freedom from Captivity

Psalm 126

When the Lord turned again the captivity of Zion, we were like them that dream.

The Lord is the only one  who can turn our captivity to sin.  As much as we may try to rid ourselves of sins in our lives, the seed of sin will always remain until Jesus takes control.  His blood at Calvary is our covering from sin (1 John 2:2).  When we confess our sins to Him, He forgives us and cleanses us from all our unrighteous ways (John 1:9).  It is the shed blood of Jesus that removes our sin (1 John 1:7), and He removes it as far as the east is from the west (Psalm 103:12).  Once He takes our sins away, He washes us white as snow (Isaiah 1:18).

This world is constantly looking for ways to restore civility and goodness into the hearts of man.  We hear calls of tolerance and understanding for those less fortunate.  We try to understand why a person would just start shooting others for the simplest of reasons.  We call for a stop of violence by police officers, which has sparked many civil unrest moments in our  country.  We look for ways to bring people together but things seem to get worse and worse.  There really is only one answer – Jesus.  This is a sin issue, not a civility issue.  Until we realize that, there will be no remedy.

My dream is for a world where Jesus reigns.  Where we all come together in love and lookout for each other, a world where people genuinely care for each other and do what’s best for those around the, not for themselves.  A world where there is an appreciation for God’s great creation, and an awe for His majesty.  This is where I try to live.  Won’t you join me?

Then was our mouth filled with laughter, and our tongue with singing: then said they among the heathen, The Lord hath done great things for them.

The Lord hath done great things for us; whereof we are glad.

Once I was freed from my sin, rejoicing is a very subtle word for how I felt.  I was elated, and I wanted to let the whole world know.  I now realize that it is a daily walk with God, and daily repentance that I must live.  I am not perfect, but living in Christ makes me perfect in His eyes.  I daily give my life to Him, dying to myself (1 Cor 15:31) so that pride will not rear it’s ugly head again.  I give myself as a living sacrifice (Romans 12:1) when I rise up in the morning, asking God to guide my day in righteousness (Psalm 23:3). I pray you do the same.

The Lord has done great things for me.  I could fill these blog pages a hundred times and not begin to tell how many wonderful things He has done for me.I bet you can do the same.  The goodness of God overwhelms  us every day, and many times we just forget to think about it.  The air we breath, the trees and flowers, the sun that rises every day, the stars that glow  at night are just the beginning of the good things He gives us.  Let us never again forget all the good things He has done for us.

Turn again our captivity, O Lord, as the streams in the south.

They that sow in tears shall reap in joy.

When bad things come our way, we need to look to God for the answer.  While walking with Him for the last 42 years, I have learned that out of the hardest, most trying times, come the biggest ;lessons and eventually the most joy.  He always had our best at heart, and brings about situations that will improve out lives and make us better Christians and followers of His ways.  I have been guilty of  taking shortcuts through the trials and not learning the lesson,and have had to repeat the lesson until it is learned.  Now I know that ,in the end, any tears or sadness that may come  into my life will eventually end in joy, and I embrace those things when they come.  God has a plan, and I plan to walk in it.

He that goeth forth and weepeth, bearing precious seed, shall doubtless come again with rejoicing, bringing his sheaves with him

Forward never back.  Even i sadness, it is ahead with Christ for me.  I must take my testimony to those who don’t know Christ.  The seed of truth and salvation that is a part of my testimony will reach into the hearts of those that hear it.  As I share with others the great things that God has done, He will  bring a harvest of souls into His kingdom.  Rejoice in what God has done for you, and share it with all you see!

3 thoughts on “Freedom from Captivity

Leave a Reply

