Whose Building Your House

Psalm 127

Except the Lord build the house, they labour in vain that build it: except the Lord keep the city, the watchman waketh but in vain.

Who is building your house, or rather your life?  We look to all kinds of sources to build our lives.  Our jobs bring us income and esteem.  Our relationships bring us social status. Our dietary choices bring us health.   Our exercise brings us physical well being.  Our search for knowledge brings us wisdom and power.  We add or subtract to our lives daily in all these ways, seeking a better life, a better existence. And all are necessary.

But if the Lord is not at the center of it all, it is in vain.  It becomes a worthless existence full of worry and doubt, fear and sorrow, endless pursuits that lead to nowhere.   Our lived without God are unfulfilled,  for He left a little part put of mankind that can only be filled by Him. He made us so that we will have that need.  Some recognize it, many don’t. They try to fill that void with everything except God.  They even try to deny He exists, hoping to rid themselves of the hole in their lives.  The Lord must build our house – with His wisdon, knowledge,  love, joy, peace, patience, forgiveness,  mercy and grace.  

And once He builds it, we must allow Him to watch over us and listen to the warnings the Holy Spirit might bring to us if we are straying off course. He becomes our watchman, and we need to listen carefully and be obedient when He speaks to us.  He always has our best in mind.

It is vain for you to rise up early, to sit up late, to eat the bread of sorrows: for so he giveth his beloved sleep.

I must admit I am a terrible sleeperI am often up 2-3 time a night. But in between those tines, I usually sleep soundly.  I am glad the Lord gives me sleep to test my body and mind.  When I rise early to pray, He hears my cries.  He is there waiting for me to call to Him.  If I am rising early for any other reason, it is vanity.  The morning, the first fruit of our day, belongs to Him.

Lo, children are an heritage of the Lord: and the fruit of the womb is his reward.

As arrows are in the hand of a mighty man; so are children of the youth.

Happy is the man that hath his quiver full of them: they shall not be ashamed, but they shall speak with the enemies in the gate.

I have three children, all grow up now and all back in church. I feel so blessed!  That each left church for a while, but have returned to that heritage my wife and I instilled on them all those years they were with us.  And I am praying my 5 grandchildren will do the same.  Blessed is the man whose quiver is full – I feel so blessed!

Leave a Reply

