Psalms

Have a Blessed Family!

Psalm 128

Blessed is every one that feareth the Lord; that walketh in his ways.

I’m not sure about you, but I want to be blessed!  I want the Lord to be pleased with everything I do.  I want my prayers to be answered.  I want my family to walk in the blessings of the Lord.  My desire is for His will to unfold in my life, and touch all those around me.  That is what I live for.  And this verse pretty well sums up what I must do to accomplish these simple tasks.,  Fear the Lord and walk in His ways.

Our society today has lost the fear of the Lord.  Churches are becoming social clubs where people gather to have fellowship with one another, eat, gossip, get in support groups for this that and the other thing and perhaps have a bible study, or hear some sermon that has no earthy point to it.  The word of God is not preached, the laws of God are not followed, and salvation is not presented.  The Holy Spirit is not allowed to move during the service, grace is there but no judgment is present, and God’s truth is hard to find.  God is not feared – He is put in a box of rules and doctrines of men.  And the people feel they are blessed because they go to church and give in the offering.

The truth is that in many of our churches today man’s doctrine has replaced the Word of God, and the  the fear of man has replaced the fear of the Lord.  People feel blessed because the enemy is not fighting them – he doesn’t have to.  These churches are leading people in the wrong direction, and the enemy of our souls is happy to let them come to his dominion. They do not walk in the ways of the Lord.  And the fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom – what does that say about those who do not fear the Lord?

I challenge you today to take a hard look at what your church is teaching, and what rules they are following.  If they follow man’s doctrine, recognize  it and admit it.  If they adhere to biblical truths, you do well to stay there.  You will only know this by opening up your bible and studying it out for yourself.  If they have gone the way of the world, as many have, I suggest you find a church that teaches the word of God, not men’s words.  The you will truly be blessed.

For thou shalt eat the labour of thine hands: happy shalt thou be, and it shall be well with thee.

Thy wife shall be as a fruitful vine by the sides of thine house: thy children like olive plants round about thy table.

The promise to bless the work of my hands and that my wife will be a fruitful vine is a blessing on my family.  These are promises to those who fear the Lord and walk according to His ways.  I don’t know about you, but I desire my family to be blessed!

First, I shall eat the labor of my hands.  This speaks to me about several things.  It’s about being successful in whatever I set my hands to do.  My job will be blessed, my paycheck will be blessed, the work I do around the house will be blessed, my hobbies will be blessed, my worship will be blessed, any work I do for the Lord will be blessed – you get the picture.  ALL that I set my hands to will be blessed. The more I do, the more blessings I receive.  The condition on this promise?  Fear the Lord and walk according to His ways.

My wife shall be a fruitful vine.  In today’s society, we are losing a generation and more to abortion.  Many of these abortions are done to people who don’t understand that baby in their womb is a living human being.  they are told it is just a mass of tissue.  Others are told they may have a deformed baby, or a mentally handicapped baby, and expenses will be astronomical if they decide to keep the child.  It is a mass deception that is being perpetrated on our babies.  One of my daughters was told their child could have  Down’s Syndrome and asked f she wanted to terminate the pregnancy at 4 months!  I’m so glad she kept our lovely Lyla!

I say all that to emphasis the fact that will be blessed through any pregnancy.  We  can trust that God will bring us the perfect children for us every time.  Even if there is something nt right with the baby, that child will be a blessing to us, and God will make a way for us to care for it.  The fruit of her womb will be blessed.

My children shall be like olive plants around my table.  To me this speaks of provision.  The olive plant provided oil for cooking and fruit for eating.  It was a revered plant in Israel and around the Middle East.  Our children shall be a blessing to us, a blessing that provides us an abundance of joy and life.  They will grow up strong and full of life, blessing our lives in return.

In my life, I have experienced all of this.  God has been so good to me and my family, who are all serving the Lord now.  There were times we drifted, I must admit.  When I drifted from His path, my whole family did as well.  Not because they chose to, but because the head was off track.  When I set my mind right again, things came back in line.

Our society is also suffering from a lack of real men, Godly men, who will carry the mantle for their families.  So many abandon their girlfriends or wives, or their children.  It s a sad thing, and is what is tearing our country apart.  If you are reading this and you have had trouble in this area in the past, you can turn it around.  Get right with God, and do your best to restore your family.   It’s never too late to turn around!

 

Behold, that thus shall the man be blessed that feareth the Lord.

The Lord shall bless thee out of Zion: and thou shalt see the good of Jerusalem all the days of thy life.

Yea, thou shalt see thy children’s children, and peace upon Israel.

The promises continue.  God has so much in store for us if we will just put Him first, holding Him and His ways in highest regard, and walking with Him on a daily basis.  Listen closely for the voice of the Holy Spirit, as He is speaking to you on a regular basis.  He will guide you daily on your road f you allow Him to, and if you listen closely.    You see, God’s desire is to bless you and all that you have in your life.  Every one of us can enjoy that.

 

2 thoughts on “Have a Blessed Family!”

Leave a Reply

