Psalms

Uncountable Thoughts

Psalm 139 Part 3

17 How precious also are thy thoughts unto me, O God! how great is the sum of them!

18 If I should count them, they are more in number than the sand: when I awake, I am still with thee.

These two verses really struck me a few weeks ago  I have been saved for almost 40 years, and read this psalm manyvtumes b in that period.  The last two verse have been ones I pray often. The first 16 I have been blessed by.  But these 2 never hit me until recently

God is on my mind a vast majority of the b time. I am oraying, or praising,  or meditating or thanking almost constantly.  I have hundreds of thoughts about Him daily. No never even thought about the fact that He thinks about me!

This psalm tells me that not only does God think about me, but that His thoughts towaed me ate precious and innumerable. Let that sink in for a moment before you read on.  God thinks precious thoughts about little old me.  And they are as countless as the sand of the sea.  Wow!  WOW!

Why should I ever worry?  Why should I ever doubt?  Why should I ever fear inside when His thoughts are on me?  Why should I fuss and fret?  Why should I lose my peace.  Why should my joy be down when His mind is stayed on me? (This entire poem/song was posted right after I finished this portion of the blog at God Thinks Of Me.  I just wrote it!).

Precious thoughts!  I have precious thoughts about few people.  My wife, my Pastor and my good friends.   The are thoughts that want to see them blessed, prosperous and healthy.  Thoughts that their life will be full of God and the fruit of the Spirit. They are many throughout the day.

God has these same type of thoughts toward me!  And they are so nany b they cannot be counted. They are always there.  What an awesome thing thus is.  We serve an awesome God!
19 Surely thou wilt slay the wicked, O God: depart from me therefore, ye bloody men.

20 For they speak against thee wickedly, and thine enemies take thy name in vain.

21 Do not I hate them, O Lord, that hate thee? and am not I grieved with those that rise up against thee?

22 I hate them with perfect hatred: I count them mine enemies.  

He will take care of my enemies.  My job is to love them and pray for them  (Matt 5:44).  Nowhere in the Bible am I told to hate them.  I am told to do good to them (Prov 25:21-23).  My tendency is to try and get even, to gossip and tells others of my woes, to say disparaging things about them.  God says to only let words of edification be spoken (Eph 4:29).  if I will learn to start treating my enemy the way God asks me to, I might just win them to Christ!

23 Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts:

24 And see if there be any wicked way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

As I thought about the last two  verses in this psalm, it occurred to me how intriguing they are given the previous 22 verses.  In verses 1-6, David writes that God knows everything about Him, His thoughts, His heart every word He speaks, when he sits and when He rises.  There is nothing that David does that escapes God, and David acknowledges this is w wonderful thing.

In verses 7-12, David points out the He cannot hide from God.  No matter where He goes, God is there, ready to hold his hand and help Him through.  This also implies that he cannot hide anything from God,  Every action and every deed is seen by God, whether done in darkness or light, or behind a wall or in a closet. God is always there.

In verses 13-16, David shows how God has always been with Him and that God holds his life in His hands, guiding him through it all.  He was there to form David in his mother’s wombs. He put David together, and knows everything about him.

Finally, in the beginning of this portion, David says God has precious thoughts about us that are to numerous to count.  God thinks of me all the time.  I never escape His attention.  He also knows when the enemy s attacking, and he will take care of that as well.  he is always taking care of me with precious thoughts for the outcome and for my future.

With all this knowledge of me, my heart, my thoughts, my actions, my deeds, and my make-up, why then does David even need to ask God to search Him and try Him?  Doesn’t God already know?  Doesn’t He have intricate knowledge of everything David has done will do or will do?  Why must David ask to be searched and tried?

Humility.  This is a key trait in my eyes.  You see, God knows, but do I?  Do I know what evil lurks in my thoughts and actions?  Do I know the thoughts and intents of the heart?  Do I know when pride has taken an active role in my life and my words and life?  The answer to all these question is no, I usually don’t. Jeremiah 17:9 says “The heart is deceitful above all things and desperately wicked:  Who can know it”  

God knows it!  He knows all about me, and that is the basis for David humbling himself and asking God to reveal his heart to him.  To search him and see if there be any wicked way, and lead him away from it into righteousness.  We all need to pray this prayer often.  The world tells us to follow our heart – God says the heart will deceive us.  Who will we believe?  Walk in the Spirit, and do not fulfill the lusts of the flesh (Gal 5:16).

Humble yourself before Almighty God, and He will lift you up. (James 4:10).

2 thoughts on “Uncountable Thoughts”

Leave a Reply

