Psalms

Relax in the Battle

Psalm 140 King James Version (KJV)

1 Deliver me, O Lord, from the evil man: preserve me from the violent man;

2 Which imagine mischiefs in their heart; continually are they gathered together for war.

3 They have sharpened their tongues like a serpent; adders’ poison is under their lips. Selah.

4 Keep me, O Lord, from the hands of the wicked; preserve me from the violent man; who have purposed to overthrow my goings.

To be honest, it’s hard for me to relate to David’s plight.  He was almost never at peace while King off the land.  First it was Saul, who tried to pierce him with a javelin twice at the dinner table and chased him around  the country for years before finally dying in battle.  David had done nothing to him.  All David had done was defeat Goliath, then defeat the Philistines, and he even sat at dinner with Saul and calmed him with his harp playing.  His best friend, Jonathan, was Saul’s son.  Yet Saul knew that Samuel had anointed David king in his place, and the jealousy caused Saul to go into uncontrollable rages.  Saul was always after David with evil intent.

Once Saul died, it was David’s son Absalom that tried to take the kingdom away from his father.  David was on the run from his own son!  Absalom won the favor of the people and thought he could take over, but God had other plans and Absalom was unsuccessful.

You see, through it all, God always had David covered.  He was always there protecting David and keeping him just far enough from harms way.  David even had the chance to kill Saul, but he would not lift his hand against the king.  I believe God was pleased with that decision.  David would wait on God to deliver the kingdom to him instead of taking matters into his own hands.

That is the way we should react as well.  Wait on God in the middle of your distress.  Wait on God to deliver you, and spend your time praising Him and lifting His name.  He is merciful to you even in the midst of your struggles if you look for that mercy.  The little things He does to help you through and protect you will only be seen as you settle down and listen to His voice in the midst of the struggle.  He is always there.

5 The proud have hid a snare for me, and cords; they have spread a net by the wayside; they have set gins for me. Selah.

Pride will always lurk in our lives to set snares for us.  I have struggled with this all my Christian life.  All of us have pride.  The difference is that some can control it better than others.  I am learning that my pride can be controlled, and I need to do a better job at times.  I try to be in control, I get demanding, I think I know more than someone else, or that I know better and I have pity parties sometimes.  All of these are symptoms of pride.

But I am so blessed to have a helpmate who is not afraid to point out when my pride rises up.  She knows I will listen now.  It was not always that way.  I never used to listen when she would tell me about my pride.  I just put her off.  But I have learned that the Lord put her in my life to help me with that pesky pride, and I am so grateful.

Men, God gave us wives to help us with this particular aspect of our lives.  They can sense pride rising up in us, and they want so badly to help us overcome that arrogance and self-centeredness that so many of us have.  Listen to her.  Allow her to speak life into your heart.  That is why she is your wife, your helpmate.  You will find a softened heart when you are able to be more pliable in her hands.

6 I said unto the Lord, Thou art my God: hear the voice of my supplications, O Lord.

7 O God the Lord, the strength of my salvation, thou hast covered my head in the day of battle.

8 Grant not, O Lord, the desires of the wicked: further not his wicked device; lest they exalt themselves. Selah.

God hears us.  He is our strength.  He covers our head in the day of battle.  Are these things that I know?  Are these things that I depend on?  Do I rely on God, or on myself when the worst is happening?  Do I turn to my own devices when I am under siege by the enemy?  Can I truly hold off the enemy at all?  All my worrying and all my trying doesn’t phase him.  All it does is pull me further away from God’s comforting arms.  That puts me right where the enemy wants me.  Don’t allow him to get you in that position,  Don’t worry.  Don’t fret  Just let God do His thing and stay in His peace and joy.  You’ll be fine

9 As for the head of those that compass me about, let the mischief of their own lips cover them.

10 Let burning coals fall upon them: let them be cast into the fire; into deep pits, that they rise not up again.

11 Let not an evil speaker be established in the earth: evil shall hunt the violent man to overthrow him.

David calls on God to destroy the enemy. he does not do it himself.  Is it right to pray for the downfall of our enemy?  David is a good example of how to pray when the enemy is putting constant pressure on us.   There is an interesting contrast to this when Jesus comes on the scene though.  He tells us to love our enemies and pray for those who despitefully use us (Matt 5:44).  He tells us to bless those who curse us (Luke 6:28).  Proverbs tells us to feed our enemy and give him drink (Prov 25: 21-22), and not to repay evil for evil (Prov 20:22).

The key is to keep our hearts right.  Do not fall into the pit of anger with your enemy.  Do not look for revenge, but for peace.  Do not try to get even.  Leave them to God, and treat them as you would want to be treated, not as they treat you.  That is the golden rule, after all, and it applies to our enemies just as much as it applies to our friends.

12 I know that the Lord will maintain the cause of the afflicted, and the right of the poor.

13 Surely the righteous shall give thanks unto thy name: the upright shall dwell in thy presence.

The key words here are “I know”  When we know these truths, we will not fret. We will not worry what the enemy does to us because we know God is in control.  We know that in the end we will give Him thanks if we uphold His righteousness within us.  God is always for us and will bring us through to victory.  He will never fail.

9 thoughts on “Relax in the Battle”

  1. Good post. Whenever I am being attacked by someone I always pray for, “God’s justice” in the situation. I do not pray for vengeance and the like.

    To me I always pray for “justice” because it is God’s justice that makes everything “right” for all those involved.

    I think I learned that more from David then anyone. All he ever wanted was for God to make everything right. God Bless, SR

    Liked by 1 person

      1. LOL!!!!! Thanks for the reply, but I am not Scott!!!!!! 🙂 Oh well if I have to be someone else what better company than Scott???? LOL!!!!! God Bless, SR

        Liked by 2 people

  2. My wife often points out when I am proud also. I can’t say that I’m good at letting God do His thing. I do understand and have seen the less I mess things up the better.
    It is hard for me to let go to Him but when I do I am never disappointed.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

