Miracles Enjoined (1 Kings 17-20) – June 11

The stories of Elijah have always intrigued me.  How could such amazing miracles happen in Israel and they still disregarded God?  I have to wonder how many of the Israelites were aware that Elijah had done these things.  They knew about the fire coming down from heaven to burn up the altar and the offering because they were all there. But did they know it was Elijah that said there would be three years of famine?  I am sure they did not know about the woman of Zarephath and the miracles done for her.  They certainly did not know about the still small voice.  It also intrigues me that so many events were recorded in Kings and Chronicles, yet Chronicles says nothing about a great man like Elijah.

It makes me wonder how much we  are paying attentio\n to what God is doing in our midst today.  There was an incredible move of God at Asbury College in Kentucky, and many of us heard about that.  But how about the move of God that is taking place today in Iran, Thailand, Myanmar, Algeria, India and Africa?  If I look up modern day miracles, there are all kinds of stories about miracles happening around the world.  I don;t even have to go that far, as I have witnessed several miracles in my own life.  Cancer healed, storms moved,finances met.  There are stories all around us that the world discounts, but we as believers know are true.

It is time that we took a step back and listened for that still small voice.  Elijhah travelled about 250 miles to hear from God, then returned that 250 miles.  We should not have to go any further than our prayers closet to hear from God.  We need to still ourselves so that we know it is the voice of God.  All that Elihah did, He did because he was hearing from God.  How often am I taking the time to hear from God, and how often am I quiet enough that I can hear His voice?  AMong all the chaos and noise of this world, God is still doing miracles and He is still wanting to talk with us.  He wants us to figure out what we are DOING here, and what we are doing HERE.  God has placed us where we are, and He has a plan for our lives.  Am I listening close enough to hear that plan?  And am I moving out, once I have heard from God and doing what He has asked not to,

Take time today to get still before God and listen for that still, small voice. He is calling you and asking you to make Himself known among your neighbors and friends.  The field is ripe for harvest, and He has sent each one of us to be that miracle for someone else.  There are no greater miracles than that of a life transformed by Jesus Christ.  Share your miracle with others today because you are a walking miracle.

It seems these shingles just do not want to go away.  One day things seem better and then the next, they are back to the same state.  I think I am just learning to cope with it better most of the time.  I covet your continued prayers.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.